thursday randomosity.

  • I’m off to German Stammtisch over in Hanover again tonight. (That’s the once-a-month gathering of German speakers sponsored by the German department at Dartmouth, so the students have a chance to use the language with native speakers for an evening.) There are two more Stammtisch meetings before the end of the year, and it’s a nice opportunity to go out, be social, have some free beverages, and engage in a few hours of Krautspeak.
  • If you’re reading this blog on a mobile device, you may have noticed a swank new look for the mobile version.  This is not of my doing—the folks at WordPress did all that.  I’ve been on WordPress for almost two years now, and I haven’t regretted the switch from That Other Free Blogging Service once.  WP has a cleaner interface, an integrated control panel and stats page, more appealing templates, and much more reliable and quick-to-load comments.  The only thing WP won’t let you do is script (at least not in the free, WP-hosted blogs), but I’ don’t have much of a use for scripted applets, anyway. 
  • I hereby proclaim Noodler’s Bulletproof Black the best fountain pen ink in the known universe.  Waterproof on paper, won’t bleed or feather even on newspaper rag, plays well with all my pens, fraud-proof…and it’s pretty cheap for having all those properties, at $12 per three-ounce bottle.  (A bottle of Noodler’s is enough for sixty pen fill-ups, which makes bottled ink much more economical than cartridge refills.)  Two ink-stained thumbs up—I’ll be using NBB exclusively from now on.
  • We’re busy winterizing Castle Frostbite for the impending snow season, which lasts from December to April around here.  In related news, the new pellet stove is plain awesome.  Much easier to fuel and maintain than the old wood stove—just dump in a bag of pellets, and let the thing go all day and night without having to stoke or maintain a fire.  There’s no need to haul in wood five times a day, and it’s much cleaner than the old stove.  The only minus is the noise—the pellet stove has a blower motor and feed auger, and those make a bit of a racket.  All things considered, however, I’ll put up with the noise for the massive improvement in efficiency and convenience.
  • The sequel to Great Big Military SF Opus is humming along quite nicely.  I’m at 25,000 words, which means I’m 1/4 of the way done.  It’ll be halfway done by the end of the year, and hopefully completed by spring.  Maybe I’ll even sell the first one by the time the second one’s written.  And, oh yes, there will be a third one, since I had the story arc for a trilogy pop into my head halfway through the first novel.  I have tentative titles, too: #2 will be called “Lines of Departure”, and #3 will be “Angles of Attack”.  (The first one, as mentioned, is “Terms of Enlistment”.  See what I did there?)
  • Anyone know of any regular gun shows in the NH/VT area that are worth a trip?  I haven’t been to a Fun Show since we moved here, and I’d hate to make the drive just to end up at a Beef Jerky & Camo Clothing (And Three Tables Of Beat-Up Cop Guns) Show.
  • Two book recommendations for you: Paolo Bacigalupi’s “The Windup Girl”, and Cherie Priest’s “Boneshaker”.  The first one is a SF novel that asks “What happens when calories become currency"?”, and the second one is a fun steampunk adventure with airships and zombies, which is really all you need to put on a book jacket to make me snatch the book off the shelf at Borders.

Anyway, that’s it from me for the moment.  More later, perhaps.

15 thoughts on “thursday randomosity.

  1. elmo_iscariot says:

    Noodlers’ Bulletproof Black is wonderful stuff, and I should use it for everything…

    But there’s something irresistable about occasionally loading up the Parker 51 with Noodler’s Dark Matter Ink, which is a reproduction of the government-issue ink used at Los Alamos. It makes me want to sit down with my notes and the manual typewriter, strap on the GI 1911, and pretend it’s 1945.

  2. MarkHB says:

    Mmm. Very classy on the iThingy.

  3. Andrew says:

    Hey, some of us LIKE beat-up cop guns! My Glock 17 and Security Six both share that heritage: much worn, little shot.🙂

  4. Eric says:

    How does Noodler’s work on Moleskine paper?

    • Marko Kloos says:

      Noodler’s is just about the best pick for Moleskines. Some claim it’s pretty much the only fountain pen ink that will reliably work in Moles out of most pens without bleeding or showing through.

  5. ibex says:

    For some reason, I just love it when titles follow a theme.

  6. T.Stahl says:

    Will there be German translations of your books?

    Might be the only German editions of English books worth reading.

  7. Jim says:

    I’d be very interested in your comments and operating costs after you’ve used the pellet stove a few more weeks. I burn three cords of wood a season or more. I simply like whole process, from felling the tree to the glow of oak embers. But eventually my body will refuse the challenge and I’ll want an alternative. Do you have the option of burning wood in your new stove?

  8. libertyman says:

    There is a gun show scheduled in West Lebanon for the end of November – I haven’t been to that one , but I have been to others sponsored by DiPrete promotions.
    How about a firearms auction in Manchester in November by Amoskeag Auctions? I have bought from them and they always have lots of interesting stuff.

  9. Chip says:

    Barre, VT has a pretty good show, usually the first weekend in Feb. A one hour drive for you I would guess.

  10. Edwin says:

    Do you have a Librarything account? Just thought you might like it.

  11. Tennessee Budd says:

    December to April? Marko, what were you thinking?
    It’s 71 today in TN.

  12. Noodler’s Bulletproof Black is pretty awesome, I use it sometimes, but I really prefer their blue black. Totally agree with you on the fact that a bottle of ink is much more economical not to mention environmentally friendly.

  13. Jeez Marko, stop by @ my place sometime.
    We (State Line, Paul’s shop) go to the Concord & Manchester shows & I post the details.
    AND, L’man is correct- the W. Leb show is Nov. 28-29; that’s a little to far for us to haul our stuff, but should be an easy one for you…

  14. mts1 says:

    I wish I knew you hadn’t tried Noodler’s before. I would’ve told you to get a bottle, to pay you back for getting me hooked on fountain pens. When I first got it, I wrote on a piece of paper, then splashed it with a BBQ brush, no bleed, then in a cup of water, no bleed, ran it under a faucet, no bleed, then wiped it on a piece of towel paper, once again no bleed. The ink likes to spread on the nib, but that has no effect on writing.

    I’m interested in the Polar Black, since my winters are like yours, and I might be dumb enough to leave the pen outside in the car one dark and freezing night, and frozen ink will destroy the pen. Here’s a good write-up:

    http://www.pendemonium.com/ink_noodler_info.htm

Comments are closed.