a high-octane present.

Birthday Stuff 012

The first birthday present of the weekend, courtesy of loyal minion reader John.  He suggested the purchase of a bottle of Templeton Rye, but they don’t sell that stuff anywhere in NH, so I took the opportunity to try a single malt Scotch that I’ve been meaning to sample for a while now.

So, thanks for the thoughtful birthday gift, John. As you can see, I have already sampled the stuff, and it is fabulous—perfect for the drizzly, cold fall day we’re having here in Upper Cryogenica right now.

18 thoughts on “a high-octane present.

  1. scotaku says:

    Slainte. And happy birthday! Nothing tastes better than a single-malt birthday scotch, I can attest.

    Enjoy in good health!

    scotaku

  2. John says:

    Enjoy!

    Just avoid higher mathematics while consuming your fine single malt – after all, it’s not safe to drink and derive!

  3. Chris says:

    That’s the second recent suggestion I’ve seen in two days to try Laphroaig, so maybe I better treat that as coming from a Higher Level. Have you ever sampled the 16 yr old Lagavulin? It’s the other “major” single malt from the island of Islay, near Glasgow. True sippin’ whiskey.

    http://lautertu.ehost.com/spiritednewsfromthehearthland/id6.html

  4. joated says:

    And a Happy Birthday to you, Marko. Enjoy your weekend.

  5. Happy Birthday, Marko! You’re off to a good start in celebrating your birthday weekend, don’t slack off now!🙂

  6. Dave says:

    Ah, my very favorite dram. Nice and smoky–rather like drinking a nice cigar.

    Enjoy, and happy birthday!

  7. perlhaqr says:

    Better you than me, boyo. 🙂

    75% of my ancestors came from that island… and I can’t stand the stuff. *shudder*

    Gimme them corn squeezin’s any day.

    Basil Hayden, Booker, Black Maple Hill… now we’re talking…

  8. Jay G. says:

    Happy Birthday, Marko. While you celebrate, I’ll be herding Cub Scouts for the Halloween party.

    Save some of that Scotch, will ya? *g*

  9. wombatoverlord says:

    Heh. I have a bottle of that sitting in my liquor cabinet right now. Excellent stuff.

  10. Assrot says:

    I’m sure my German is rusty. I haven’t been there since back in the very early 1960s. I hope the following makes sense.

    Herzlichen Glückwunsch zum Geburtstag!

    Joe

  11. Laphroaig single malt scotch.

    Two observations:

    1. John is a really big fan.

    2. I really wish John read my blog, too.

    My birthday was October 18, John, in case you’re reading.

    Just sayin’…

    • John says:

      1. What’s my size got to do with anything?

      2. I do read your blog. Marko answers emails.

      Happy belated birthday!

      For the record, I’m betting my donation purchased PART of that bottle, but not ALL of it.

      • Marko Kloos says:

        You are correct, John. Your donation purchased about 80% of that bottle.

        (Interestingly enough, that’s about how much is left of it after the weekend. ‘Tis to be savored, not guzzled, right?)

  12. MarkHB says:

    The smooth, peaty goodness of proper booze.

    Outstanding.

  13. Instinct says:

    Happy Birthday. Know that while you pursue worthwhile endeavors I will be working and doing homework.

    Yours is a much better way to pass the time.

  14. Tennessee Budd says:

    Happy birthday, youngster!

  15. Argh. I love me some good scotch, but Laphroaig is just too smoky for me. Everyone I’ve given samples to agrees, and I can’t find anyone to take it off my hands. I guess I don’t have quite the taste for it.

    I prefer the Macallan, at least 12 years old. Talisker’s not bad. Just bought my fiancee a bottle of 30 year old Glenfiddich (I think their 15 and 18 year old stuff is quite good, if nothing spectacular) to celebrate her 30th birthday…and so we can share a dram every year for the next 30.

  16. Matt G says:

    AZ Rifleman is correct– Laphroaig is a BIG smoky scotch. I’m also a MacAllan fan, and a Talisker fan, though it’s a mighty peppery drink Laphroaig is a helluva dram for a man who wants to taste his whisky, not just knock it back. Never to be served cold.

Comments are closed.