a winner is you!

I finally picked a callsign for my pilot.

As reader Dirk already predicted, I went through the entire list of entries, and then made up my own.  However, I got the idea for my pilot’s callsign after reading formerflyer’s very comprehensive comment, so I am declaring him the winner.

You didn’t have all the information—my pilot’s last name is Halley, a name I picked because of its proximity to my protagonist’s last name in alphabetic order.  (They needed to be bunk neighbors in Basic, where the bunks were allotted by last name.) I also liked the astronomical relevance, so I have no idea why I didn’t think of her natural callsign of “Comet” earlier.  (I rigged a bit of backstory that involves an expedited atmospheric entry right at the outer edges of the safety margin.)

So, formerflyer, you got my synapses on the right track, therefore you get to claim the chunk of Cold War I have ready on my desk for shipment.  Just email me your snail-type address at marko dot kloos at gmail dot com, and I’ll get that out to you in the mail.

Thanks for all the participation!  I enjoyed the varied entries, especially the ones with creative backstories and explanations. 

5 thoughts on “a winner is you!

  1. MarkHB says:

    I really liked FormerFlyer’s input. Well done, well won.

  2. Ritchie says:

    By further association, check out an old comic strip called “Gordo”.

  3. If that last tidbit of information was known, you would have had 116 replies of “Comet”.

    Anyway…

  4. Dirk says:

    It was a fun contest, for sure. I appreciate the “honorable mention.”

    And doubletrouble is right. 🙂

  5. formerflyer says:

    Doubletrouble and Dirk are both right. I got lucky you didn’t give out her name!

    I’m glad I could help in some small way. I was already gonna buy the book when it is published, but now I’ll have to send it back to you to get it signed!

Comments are closed.