first of novembah.

Happy November! Today marks the first day of NaNoWriMo, the National Novel Writing Month.

I won’t be participating, since I’m a perennial participant in the MaNoWriYe, the Marko Novel Writing Year, which starts anew every time about three weeks after I write “THE END” at the bottom of a finished novel.  For those of you NaNoWriMo’ing this year, here are a few comments:

  1. You’re nuts.
  2. Good luck.
  3. If you need to “prime the pump” on occasion, try changing your process for a day. If you usually write on the computer, try longhand, or a typewriter, or an Alphasmart Neo.  If you usually write at home, go out and sit in a coffee shop.  If you go to a coffee shop, try the library or a different shop.  Mix things up, both your surroundings and the way you put down words.  From my experience, a change in routine can help restart the creative flow.
  4. Here’s the very best of all the NaNoWriMo pep talks, given by Neil Gaiman. 

Trick-or-treating was a success—the kids had fun despite the light rain.  The town cops were out in force (all four of them), and played crossing guards at various intersections in the center of town.  The older officer who guarded our crossing commented on our flashlight.

“That’s a smaht family, bringing  a flashlight! You’re only the second family I’ve seen with one tonight.  I can’t believe what I’m seein’ out heah.”

Today will be spent with some housework, leisure, and the reduction of the substantial candy stash we’ve amassed.  Also, I’ll be announcing the winner of the callsign contest later today, so stay tuned.

5 thoughts on “first of novembah.

  1. scotaku says:

    NaNoWriMo it is. It is insane, your MaNoWriYe is probably a better system, but there is a certain rush to condensing things to a breakneck pace. After I submit this comment, I submit myself to another go at the whole thing, which shows that your Point 1 above is dead-on accurate.

  2. Jay G. says:

    Holy CRAP you’re not kidding about the flashlights. What on earth possesses people to bring their beloved children out after dark, dressed all in black, without a single strip of reflective gear, glowstick, or flashlight?

  3. BobG says:

    Flashlights are very common around here; I see very few groups without at least one. Another thing many parents are doing with small children is hanging a cyalume glow light on a string around their neck to make them more visible.

  4. Don Gwinn says:

    Flashlights are so important, and the other key piece of trick-or-treating gear that no one seems to use anymore is the SIDEWALK. I don’t get it.

    I took Donovan to Springfield last night to go on the “Ghost Walk” where they walk you around and tell you about the supposed ghosts all over town and then you “ghost hunt” in a Lincoln-era house that now has a “haunted” bar in the basement. Good clean fun, right? $10 a person. Our tour didn’t run because we were the only two people to show up. On Halloween. Come on, people!

  5. Murgy says:

    1: Writing a novel is much harder than reading one.
    2: All I’ve written (so far) sounds like /censored/.
    3: NaNoWriMo will eat my soul – bet on it.

    Watching 2 5 year-old girls run down the driveway screaming “Beanie Babies and Candy!” is a hoot – why didn’t I have the video camera running?!

    Hint: When they come up to the door in a black dress, black wings and fake blood, “Vampire Bumblebee?” is not taken well. “Angel of Death”-stumped me on that one!

Comments are closed.