inkcast #3.

Untitled-1

Untitled-2

9 thoughts on “inkcast #3.

  1. Jay G. says:

    One look at my “penmanship” and you’ll understand why I prefer the computer…

  2. Laughingdog says:

    For future reference, these would probably be a lot easier to read if they were scanned into a larger sized image.

  3. mike says:

    As I sit at my computer reading this, I’m wishing for a fountain pen and paper to write…well anything. I’ve never written with pen and ink before and I haven’t a clue where to start. Could someone make a quick Staples suggestion on what to start with?

    • Marko Kloos says:

      Staples sells mediocre pens. Their only current fountain pen offering is the $30 Cross Aventura, with medium nibs only. For the same money, you can get a Lamy Safari (a much better starter pen), and a box of cartridges or a converter.

      Check out isellpens.com or jetpens.com. I’ve ordered from both companies, and their service has been great. Try out a $25 Lamy Safari, or a $15 Pilot 78G, two excellent starter pens that write as well as much more expensive ones. But beware…that way lies addiction, and before you know it, your pen case is worth more than your gun safe.

      • mike says:

        I just dipped my toes in the water, a Pilot 78G! I’m excited to write in my journal and hope this will keep me consistant. Thank you!

  4. Jenny says:

    “the way of the pen” – cool.🙂

    Out of curiosity, when you write do “hear” it as spoken language and adjust the rhythm and cadence to match? Or is it more “concept-to-written-word” for you?

    Is it different in English as opposed to German?

  5. OrangeNeckInNY says:

    I buy my expensive pens at Art Brown in NYC (www.artbrown.com) and they have the most amazing pens. Check them out.

  6. Rusty Bucket says:

    Hi all~

    True penmanship is impossible with a fountain pen.

    It requires the learning of gothic blackletter script and a true calligraphers pen with inks and interchangble nibs. It’s an art actually. Anything else is just chicken scratching.

  7. Mike says:

    Returned from vacation 11 last night to my package from isellpens.com. Today I awoke to several pages of observations from my trip, ink stained fingers and new found appreciation for long-hand. Pretty cool! Thanks Marko.

Comments are closed.