happy thanksgiving.

The Thanksgiving weekend is upon us, so I’m going to try and use this here computer for nothing but mindless web browsing and World of Warcrafting for the next few days.  (Our Thanksgiving dinner will be Cornish Game Hens, as per recently established tradition.  Do you have any idea how hard it is to get leg ruffles for Cornish hens?)

I do have a movie recommendation to pass on, just in case you haven’t seen the flick yet.  It’s the film adaptation of Neil Gaiman’s Stardust.  I watched it last night, and liked it a lot.  It has a very Princess Bride-y feel to it—very much a fairytale for adults, just like the novel.  If you haven’t gotten around to watching that one, it’s well worth a few bucks for the rental.

Here’s wishing all of you imaginary Internets pals out there a Happy Thanksgiving.  Hit that liquor cabinet, stuff yourselves with flightless birds, and spend some time with your friends and families.  I’ll certainly take the opportunity to do all of the above.

14 thoughts on “happy thanksgiving.

  1. Chris C. says:

    I’ve been trying to get my family and friends to see Stardust ever since I saw it when it played in theaters (with no noticeable success, despite my notorious nit-pickiness with most films). It was funny. It was occasionally exciting. I enjoyed the performances by DeNiro and Pfeiffer (not award-winning, but they both seemed to be having a ball with the roles). The princes were a hoot. Fun, I tell you!

  2. Andrew says:

    Same to you, Marko. In the spirit of Thanksgiving, thanks for writing for our entertainment!

  3. julie says:

    Wishing you a happy and restful thanksgiving with your family … (and i’m not imaginary🙂 ).

  4. aczarnowski says:

    And a happy Thanksgiving to you and yours Marko. Thanks for all the free ice cream.

    As for Stardust I completely agree. The special features make it pretty clear everybody was having a blast. It was also nice to see Claire Danes again; she did great with a pretty tricky role. Costume helped, but obviously fun all around.

  5. Tam says:

    Happy Thanksgiving, bro!

    Enjoy some roast beast.🙂

  6. Jay G. says:

    Happy Thanksgiving, Marko. Have fun with the family!

  7. Rey B says:

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family Marko. Stardust was funny enough that we bought it after seeing it in the theater. Deniro in drag and the princes were hilarious.

  8. Breda says:

    Have a lovely day!

  9. Stardust was very good. You could tell it there was a lot of Princess Bride inspiration there, and it worked.

  10. Hope you had a wonderful day, Marko!

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family.

  11. Kaerius(SWE) says:

    Hey! Where’d the ‘stash go?😉

    Have a good day Marko.

  12. Mike says:

    Stardust was great.

    But turkeys (the wild kind anyway) aren’t flightless.

  13. LabRat says:

    I actually thought Stardust was a rare example of a movie that was an improvement over the book. For some reason the novel fell rather flat for me, but the movie brought it all to life.

  14. Windy Wilson says:

    After some practice and research, I am now able to cook a turkey with oyster stuffing (according to my brothers) as good as my Mother’s turkey.
    I have been experimenting with chickens stuffed with various stuffings, and your mention of game hens is intriguing. What sort of stuffing do you use? The times I’ve eaten game hens at restaurants the stuffing seems much sweeter than the stuffing used in chickens or turkeys. Strongly on the sweet end of the sweet-savory continuum. I’m curious about your take on the combination.
    If you can tell, and it’s not a family secret, of course.

Comments are closed.