magical realism.

There’s an artist named Phil McDarby who does some pretty amazing things with a camera and a copy of Photoshop.  I wandered over to his site via Patrick Rothfuss’ blog, and spent a fair amount of time clicking my way around all the fabulous imagery.

Here’s my favorite:

The Amber Dragon’s Hoard.

Amazing, isn’t it?

I don’t have the spare scratch to buy one of the limited edition prints signed by him and Pat Rothfuss, but if I did, you can bet I’d buy one for the office.  If you have the scratch, you should totally buy one for yourself, or as The Awesomest Fantasy-Themed Christmas Gift Evar.

4 thoughts on “magical realism.

  1. perlhaqr says:

    Yow. That is pretty amazing all right.

  2. Isaiah Kellogg says:

    Wow. I feel like the half hour I just spent was actually a lifelong vacation to another world.

  3. guy says:

    “The Ant has spotted an opportunity and is making the most of the distracted Dragon.”

    Hahaha, I didn’t even notice that in the pic at first glance. The artistry is great, but I’m a sucker for small piddly details like that.

  4. Fred says:

    I buy my comics from the same store as Mr. Rothfuss. He’s a pretty cool guy.

    Those are some pretty sweet pictures too. The breakdown of the process for the Green Man really helps you appreciate how much goes into them.

Comments are closed.