dickens wrote a lot because he had no internet.

We had a power outage today.  I also wrote five pages for the new novel, and six more for various other projects.  There may be a connection there, but I can’t quite put my finger on it.

Tomorrow is Saturday, January 2nd, which means that it’s time for the 2nd Annual Northeast Blogger Winter Gathering.  We’ll be at Jillian’s in Manchester this time, which is awesome, because I won’t have to leave all the personal safety devices at the ranch when I head south.  I’ll be taking an extended Dadcation day: writing in the morning, lunch, maybe catching an Avatar or Sherlock Holmes matinee, joining the gang at Manchester Firing line for some pre-dinner ballistic therapy, and then heading over to Jillian’s for a few hours of socializing. 

We didn’t stay up for the new year/decade.  Here at the ranch, with a wife who goes to work at oh-dark-thirty, and two kids who think that six in the morning is a perfectly cromulent time for some Lucky Charms and Thomas & the Magic Railroad cranked to eleven, getting up at five thirty is “sleeping in”, and going to bed at ten in the evening is “staying up late”.  So, no real-time New Year for us.

I’m looking forward to my Super Dadcation tomorrow.  They’ve predicted snow, but I don’t care.  I’ll hijack a town snowplow if I have to.

9 thoughts on “dickens wrote a lot because he had no internet.

  1. Jay G. says:

    Can’t wait, Marko.

    You’re joining us at MFL beforehand for shootie goodness, right?

  2. Reuben says:

    Marko,
    How did you get on in the power outage, where you ok heat wise?

    • Marko Kloos says:

      We were fine. We have three heating systems in the house, one of which works without power (wood stove). Works for basic cooking and warming up of food, too.

  3. RevolverRob says:

    Sherlock Holmes is worth seeing, for sure. It is really a lot more true to the original books and short stories than any of the Hollywood stuff. Avatar is, okay, but I’d personally wait until video, it wasn’t as entertaining as I thought it would be and it turned predictable fast.

    -Rob

    • Tam says:

      Avatar is, okay, but I’d personally wait until video…

      Dude, if there’s one movie that really needs IMAX 3-D to get the most out of it, Avatar is it.

      I’ll tell you this, Marko: Rated on story and script alone, Avatar is mediocre. You will have the entire plot sussed within fifteen minutes and will probably be able to do the characters’ dialog along with them, w/o benefit of a script. Rated on production values, however, this is the most significant movie since Al Jolson sang. It’s all different from here on out. They can do anything on a screen now. Anything.

  4. OT, but last summer you wrote a “flash review on the AKJ Concealco holster. Now that you’ve had it for a few months, are you happy with it?

    (I’m thinking of buying one from the same dude on FleaBay.)

Comments are closed.