southward ho!

I’m going into East Berlin by the Bay tomorrow, to attend my very first SF convention.   I hear that Boskone is a particularly good con for a noob writer like myself, and there will be quite a few VP instructors and former students there, so I’m looking forward to it.  On the way in, I’ll finally take the opportunity to stop at Cambridge Typewriter, our regionally famous typing machine shop, to drop off a Royal Deluxe Portable for overhaul and ogle the machines they have for sale there.  And if I find that I have an hour or so to spare around lunchtime, I’ll stop by Bromfield Pen Shop for a bottle of Noodler’s ink or two, which will make the day thoroughly writing-themed. 

I really should bring a camera, or better yet, buy one of those Flip video cameras, so I can bore the lot of you not just with written recollections of my thoroughly mundane outings, but present moving pictures as well.  But don’t hold your collective breath for video blogs…that would require me to shave on a regular basis, and come to work in something other than my regular office wear, which is usually from the Whatever’s Clean line of writer couture.  (“Irons in the dryer!  Now With Some Matching Colors!”)

Anyway: extended Dadcation tomorrow, for the sake of networking and socializing with fellow writer types and skiffy geeks (and there is a lot of overlap in that particular Venn diagram.) 

7 thoughts on “southward ho!

  1. Tam says:

    Holy jeebus, you’ve never been to a con before?

    Oh, man… We really should have roadtripped to Dragon*Con back in the day, just so you could say you had.

    You’re going to love it. You will feel so amazingly normal afterward.😀

  2. Jay G. says:

    Trust me on this one, Marko. You will be the coolest guy there. Honest.

    (I have been to many sci-fi cons. ‘Nuff said?)

  3. After you have been to the con, go rent a copy of “Galaxy Quest”.

  4. Chang says:

    Hey, I’lll bee there. still got my digits? I DM’ed you. LEt’s meet there. Word.

  5. LittleRed1 says:

    My first was Bubonicon ’08. If Boscon is anything like that, you’ll have a blast!

  6. Old Windways says:

    I’ve never been to a SF convention, but Cambridge Typewriter is where my Underwood was revived, and I visit the Bromfield Pen Shop every few months to lust after fountain pens. Sounds like a spectacular use of a Dadcation.

  7. Kristopher says:

    Marko; Con virgin.

    Mheh.

Comments are closed.