snow, and other random observations.

So it’s finally snowing outside again.  We’re supposed to get 6-10 inches by tomorrow morning, which will give me a chance to dust off the poor snowblower.

Boskone was fun.   I reconnected with some VP pals, and met a bunch of new people.  In the end, I was bummed to have to leave on Saturday evening already.  The next con in the area will be Readercon, and half a dozen of my fellow VPXII alumni will be there, so I’m planning on going there in July, and maybe staying overnight.

Readercon is on the weekend after Independence Day, which gives me a perfect deadline for two different projects I am currently tackling.  The first is the MilSF novel I’m writing, which stands at 45,000-ish words right now.  My plan is to have it finished and edited into good shape by the time I go to Readercon.  The other project is the reduction of my gravity footprint–at my current rate of shrinkage, I should be at my target weight by then.  (I left behind 13 pounds in the first six weeks of the year, and I continue to shed about two pounds a week.)  So that’s the goal: show up at Readercon slim and trim, with Book Two of Three in the Space Kablooie series under my arm.  (Not the actual title of the series, mind you.)  The con weekend in Burlington will be my reward for meeting both targets.

In other news in the Social Events category, we’ll have another Northeast Blog Meet dinner on March 1st, which will have me trekking down into (or near) Menino’s Mordor again.  There are also two German Stammtisch evenings coming up in the next two months.  I have to watch this “hanging out with adults” business, lest I develop a social life…

6 thoughts on “snow, and other random observations.

  1. Jay G. says:

    I promise you this, Marko: we will stay out of Meninostan.

    My blood pressure can’t handle driving in Bahstin…

  2. LabRat says:

    It totally NEEDS to be called the Space Kablooie series, though.

  3. Leadhead says:

    Being from the south I rarely get to see the white stuff.
    So, just out of curiousity, what is the right way to drive
    up a snow covered hill?

    • Kristopher says:

      Slowly, with traction devices on or in your tires. Front wheel drive followed by 4×4 is a plus, but cannot substitute for those traction devices.

Comments are closed.