the keyboard issue has been resolved.

Well, I don’t need to shop for one anymore, because I had exactly what I needed.  Check out what I dug out of my Big Box O’ Computer Stuff:

100_2244

It’s an Apple wireless Bluetooth keyboard.  I used it with my old MacBook, and almost-but-not-quite forgot that I still had it. 

Vista may not have a shining reputation for flawless function, to put it mildly, but Bluetooth dongles work fine with it, which is more than you can say about old XP (which came out when “Bluetooth” was merely a dental condition in rural Appalachia.)  I boxed this keyboard when my BT adapter wouldn’t work with my Core 2 Duo rig under XP, but it works just fine under Vista on the Atom/ION shoebox.  It’ll be a good match for the rather minimalistic Mac mini.

Sitting on that desk mat, it kind of gives off that Zen rock garden vibe, doesn’t it?

The mouse, incidentally, is not an Apple product, but a Microsoft Wireless Laser Mouse 5000, which, in addition to working fine, also has a comfortable shape.  I checked out the new Apple “Magic Mouse” at Best Buy the other day, and as much as I love Apple hardware, it looks like they continue to strike out on mice.  That thing was only marginally more comfortable than the notorious “hockey puck” mouse on the original iMac.  A multi-touch shell may be cool and all, but having your hand contorted into a painful claw from trying to hold a narrow and ridiculously flat mouse would be a rather hefty price to pay for that capability.

I wasn’t sure about those keys when I remembered the Apple aluminum keyboard, but I’ve typed this entire blog entry on it without errors, so I guess it’s fine after all.  Robin uses the wired version with the number pad—I bought it for her a year or so ago, and it has held up well.  The white keys do grime up after a while, but because of the flat design, they’re very easy to clean thoroughly.

Another nice property of the Apple keyboard: it’s tiny and lightweight, which makes it easy to pick up and stow out of the way when I break out the pen and paper. 

Also: shiny.  Ooh, so very shiny.  Say what you want about Apple, but they know how to make their hardware pretty.

10 thoughts on “the keyboard issue has been resolved.

  1. alan says:

    I love those new Apple keyboards. The old ones were trays for crud collecting.

  2. I would not recommend an Apple mouse. I love their products, but I have not met a mouse of Apple’s that is built well. Maybe the new magic mouse will change that but the mighty mouse was a giant turd. I went through 3 of them before giving up.

    • Marko Kloos says:

      The Mighty Mouse, shitty as it was, actually felt better in the hand than the new Magic Mouse does, IMHO. The Magic Mouse is a flat aluminum tray with a one-piece polycarbonate shell on top of it. The surface is multi-touch, which is cool, but the thing is way too flat, and I have to curl in my pinky to hold on to the mouse.

      The old Mighty Mouse was more rounded and a bit taller, and much more comfortable to hold.

      It’s kind of shocking that with all their in-house design genius, they can’t design a comfortable mouse to save their lives.

  3. RevolverRob says:

    Apple does make shiny, pretty, and minimalistic products. I bought a Macbook on Monday and it is a very nice, shiny, and well built book.

    I only wish my desk were that clean.

    -Rob

  4. Joseph says:

    These are decent keyboards, but I abandoned flat keyboards long ago for the ergo keyboards. I’ve got two of the Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000 and they are dreamy compared to the Apple stuff. In general, Microsoft mice/keyboards kick the crap out of Apple’s stuff. I use Macs at home, work and portable, so I’m no hater of Apple’s hardware, but better is better.

    • Marko Kloos says:

      The mice: yes. The keyboards: not so much. MS keyboards have mushy, sloppy, clattery rubber dome keys with vague tactile feedback.

      YMMV, of course.

  5. Sigivald says:

    It’s a personal preference thing, I think. (Just like Marko’s preceding comment about keyboard feel…)

    I find the Magic Mouse quite comfortable (and I like the increased mass), but if you don’t, definitely don’t get one.

    Since Apple isn’t willing to make half a dozen mice (wired and unwired in three different shapes to suit…), I’m sure they don’t expect everyone to love it.

    Especially since most of their market is people who aren’t tied to the computer all day. (The business workstation for people running Word, Excel, and Powerpoint all day just isn’t Apple’s market. Deliberately.)

  6. Jake says:

    please don’t tell me you traded in a Model M for that!

    • Marko Kloos says:

      Oh, no. The Model M is in a drawer under the desk, to be used for the serious typing sessions. The one on the desk is just a convenience item for quick blog posts and WoW sessions.

Comments are closed.