what self-respecting child of the ’80s *wouldn’t* buy one?

The iPad launches on Saturday.  I expect to see the first one in the wild by lunchtime at the latest.

ThinkGeek has a good April Fools joke related to the iPad–the iCade “desktop arcade” peripheral.

Yeah, it’s a joke, but you know what?  I’d totally buy one.  (If I had an iPad, that is, which I don’t. And won’t, at least until iPad 2.0 comes out, which will be twice the memory, 50% longer battery life, and a 20% smaller price tag.)

As far as April Fools jokes go, that one’s pretty elaborate.  The mock-up looks real, and the whole thing is just plausible enough to not be totally obvious.

And now I think I need to stop blogging about gadgets for a while, as I have exhausted my monthly thematic allotment regarding shiny computing devices.

5 thoughts on “what self-respecting child of the ’80s *wouldn’t* buy one?

  1. Matt says:

    Given that the real desktop arcade machine that actually plays the old games runs just under $1000, I can easily see some enterprising hardware guru come up with something like that. If the dock was $299, it would be worth it. The problem would be licensing the games from the original rights holders to use with it.

    I lust after a cabinet (new or original) that runs Galaga. Fond youth memories right there.

  2. Brian J. says:

    It’s a joke now, but the idea has been planted in many capable heads.

  3. Oakenheart says:

    hehe.

    If you like old games check out MAME – arcade machine emulator. You can find game roms easily with a google search🙂

    http://mamedev.org/

  4. Brian J. says:

    I had a friend who found an old nonworking Galaga cabinet for $70 at a garage sale. A fuse later, and he was on his way to repetitive stress disorder from it.

  5. og says:

    You can buy the Galaga brand new for home use at Chicago Gaming.

    http://www.chicago-gaming.com/pacman.php

    Shipping might be a bitch depending on where you are.

    They also have an “Arcade legends” that has buckets of old arcade games.

Comments are closed.