talking smack, corporate-style.

Mac OS X has file-sharing compatibility with Windows PCs built into the OS.  I use a shared drive on the Windows XP box behind the TV to store media files and run network backups.

Here’s the default MacOS X icon for Windows-based network resources:

For the non-geek readers, that’s a CRT with a Windows BSoD (Blue Screen of Death) on it.

It’s a minor bit of low-level passive-aggressive snark, but it got a chuckle out of me this morning.  I never realized it was a BSoD until I looked at a large version of the icon.

I haven’t looked at Windows 7 in detail yet, so I don’t know if the Redmond crew retaliated by making their icon for Mac file shares a snotty turtleneck-wearing hipster with iPod earbuds screwed into his cranium.

10 thoughts on “talking smack, corporate-style.

  1. Nathaniel says:

    It’s actually been like that since Leopard (10.5) I think. I lol’d when I saw it.

  2. perlhaqr says:

    That’s completely wonderful. 🙂

  3. Michael G. says:

    It’s a bit like a guy living in a deed-restricted community with identical neat houses and trimmed lawns, pointing and laughing at the outside world because the people there are free to build whatever they please, including some really ugly and badly designed houses.

  4. philperrey says:

    Microsoft should use the “sad Mac” as an icon.

  5. Marko Kloos says:

    Or an iMac flat panel screen with the spinning “please wait” beach ball.

  6. Borepatch says:

    Wonder what they use for Linux …

    • tweev says:

      Nothing, because religious people get upset, when you picture god.

    • Marko Kloos says:

      A terminal screen with a command line that’s six lines long, with twenty-seven modifiers.

      • Michael G. says:

        Oh god, don’t even mention Linux. Most of you people have it easy, I have to deal with all of the mentioned OSes (and several versions of each) on a daily basis. The only thing that keeps me sane is VMware, before that I used to do it hardcore; multi-boot with 6 or more options. I even had to buy a special program that allowed me to boot from more partitions than normally possible. Ah, good times (not).

Comments are closed.