your internets, they eat time.

Stuff I did this week (so far):

  • Chopped up trees and branches deposited in my back yard by the storm a few weeks back.  Made a brush pile for burning, stacked the usable bits for use as firewood, split the sections of Treezilla (the 100-odd foot oak that fell over at the edge of our yard, taking down thirty feet of fence line and one young birch in the process), and did some general picking up of winter debris in the back yard.
  • Plugged away at the novel some more.  (It’s two thirds complete right now at 65k words.)  I wanted to have the first draft done by Readercon, which is in July.  That may still happen, but I really need to put pen to paper for it.
  • Came up with the idea for a new short story in my MilSF novel’s setting, much like the one I posted a while back.  I’ll share it when it’s finished.
  • Cleaned up the house, which is a never-ending task when you have two kids and four dogs following in your wake to undo all your work.
  • Leveled my hunter main to 77, so she can finally use her flying mount in Northrend, and discovered just how lucrative a bit of focused grinding can be.

Stuff I didn’t do (much) this week:

  • Dick around on the Internet.

It’s amazing how much more work you can get done if you leave the computer off for most of the day.

I think I’m suffering from Intertubes fatigue at the moment.  I’m sick of the news, the polarizing editorials, and the YouTube-like retarded comments that are invariably appended to those items.  I’m heartily sick of wading through the 90% crap to get to the 10% of genuine emails in my Inbox (and if you sent me an email in the last few weeks, I apologize for not getting back to you in a timely fashion).  I’m even a bit tired of the social networking thing…it’s fun to stay in touch with friends, but does the world really need four or six updates per day from me?

So I’m cutting the consumption back a fair bit, and I’m going to focus on production instead.  Blogging will continue, but don’t be surprised if I don’t regularly regale you with my lunch choices on Facebook or Twitter in the next few weeks, or if you don’t see me around on Instant Messenger or IRC.  I’m trying some Intertubes detox for a while.

21 thoughts on “your internets, they eat time.

  1. Old NFO says:

    Not a bad idea Marko- Sometimes, enough is too much…

  2. irish red says:

    I’m supposed to be writing a paper right now…so yeah.

  3. perlhaqr says:

    I hear that. Here. On the internet. Ah, fuck. 😦

  4. Al Terego says:

    (judging by the sidebar twits)

    Starting…now. I mean…now. Okay, for reals…now.

    Well, for sure…tomorrow! tomorrow!

    AT

  5. Mark says:

    I had my own Treezilla–also a huge, ancient oak–incident a few weeks back. No fences were damaged, but it crushed a mid-sized maple tree as if it were made of papier mâché. Worst part is it took out a redbud my wife and I had just planted the week prior; best part is my worn old chainsaw gave up the ghost, so I got to go shopping at Tractor Supply. I figure I’m good on firewood for the next few years…

  6. dave says:

    I think I’m in a similar boat. My guild is slamming its collective head against the metaphorical brick wall that is the Lich King, and all the raiding is keeping me from working on my music or exercising.

    I needs me a break, but I don’t have any trees around to cut down and turn into firewood. Well, I guess technically I do, but I don’t think the people who own the land my apartment is on would appreciate it.

    • George Smith says:

      But … but … think of the nice fires you can have next Fall … in the middle of your living room floor. They’ll be ever so goof aw warding off the chills.

      Regards.

  7. ibex says:

    Pardon my curiosity and nerdiness, but which faction/race is your hunter? PvP or PvE? Which professions did you choose? Are you in a guild?

    • Marko Kloos says:

      We’re on Steamwheedle Cartel, which is a RP server (although we don’t RP.) I have both Alliance and Horde characters, but my main is Alliance (NE hunter), with Herbalism and Inscription as professions.

      We have a guild, but it’s just a really casual friends-and-family type of affair. On Horde side, I’m with a guild called Reprisal.

  8. Tam says:

    ‘Cause leveling up your pixie is so much more productive than dicking around on the internets.😉

  9. NYEMT says:

    You’ll be twitching and rocking back and forth in a corner, mumbling, “Web – oh, man, I need some web.”

    The missus will find you crouched furtively in a closet, face illuminated by the glow of your PDA, and when she opens the door and catches you in the act, you’ll be all, “No – honest – it’s the first time I’ve been on Twitter all week!”

    Good luck.

  10. libertyman says:

    I can’t make any sense of “leveling a hunter main” or any of that last phrase. What on earth does it mean?

Comments are closed.