as cubicle-y as it gets around here.

This is TempOffice, the desk on the screened-in porch I set up for when I have work to do, but still want to keep an eye on the kids as they play outside.

It’s in the Nineties up here in Cryogenica right now, and I have a pitcher of cold iced tea (unsweetened), and a giant fan situated about six feet to the left of that desk.  All in all, I’ve worked in worse locations.

I have some pizza dough rising for dinner, a chapter to conclude, and two articles to finish.  Fortunately, I’m a hoopy frood who knows where his towel is.  Hope you’re having a tolerable workday, too, wherever you’re slaving away right now.

5 thoughts on “as cubicle-y as it gets around here.

  1. Lissa says:

    Do you wrap it round your head to avoid the gaze of the dogs? Or are they not sufficiently daft?

  2. RevolverRob says:

    I can’t believe it’s in the nineties there and only in the high 80s here in the Capital of Texas (86 to put a finer point on it).

    It’s May 26th, we should be working on a third or fourth consecutive 100 degree day by now and we haven’t even found the north side of 95 yet.

    -Rob

  3. Chang says:

    Nice.

    I just had to shut the entire COLOSSUS mainframe down here at the shop and put the computer UNDER the desk to cool down. Looks better and Sha-Dingle (the Macbooks Name) seems more comfortable what with the CPU temp down to a comfy 153F and the HD down to 104F. This is just in time for the outside temperature to drop 30 degrees in about two hours. It was 92 now it’s about 63.

    How do you work in such a clutter free environment? Gah!!!

    • Marko Kloos says:

      My main desk is a bit more cluttered. I tend to relocate during the day depending on where the kids are: main desk in the living room, lap desk on the outside patio, TempOffice on the porch, barn table in the proper office…

      That whole thing about needing a private space and quiet time to write? That went out the window a while ago. It’s either write in the middle of things, or don’t write at all. I tell myself I’m sitting in a Starbucks that just happens to share floor space with a busy Chuck-E-Cheese.

  4. Windy Wilson says:

    I take it you like unsweetened Iced Tea? I discovered some years back when I could no longer drink a beer at lunch and stay awake at 3 pm that unsweetened Iced Tea tasted better with the food. Besides, it was a good indicator of the level of care and detail the restaurant put into its food.

Comments are closed.