small victories.

I went to the bookstore today, and saw a paperback edition of Ted Nugent’s “Ted, White, and Blue” on the “Buy One, Get One 1/2 Off” table.  The cover said “Revised Edition”, so I picked up the book and checked for the essay of mine that was included in the hardcover edition without attribution or permission.  (You may remember the copyright saga.)

Here’s the final page of the essay, which takes up two and a half pages in the book:

And here’s the pertinent reference section in the back of the book:

Pardon the low-quality pictures…I took them with my cell phone’s camera, because the idea of spending $17 of the money my lawyer got out of Uncle Ted for the oversight (and passing on the royalties to the Nuge) didn’t appeal to me.

Proper attribution of the essay, a bit of green in my palm, and I’m happy.  It would have been even better if he had done the research, asked permission first, and paid up front.  Alas, one has to be thankful for small victories.

35 thoughts on “small victories.

  1. Groundhog says:

    You know you’ve arrived when you’ve been plagiarized🙂

  2. Tam says:

    teh w00tz0rs!😀

  3. MarkHB says:

    Way to go, matey!

  4. MarkHB says:

    Oh… out of interest. Gay Cooties Excision in that edition? Or are gays people too?

    • Marko Kloos says:

      No gays, because they’re…um…gay, or something.

      • MarkHB says:

        *Sighs* Supporting freedom, as long as it’s the right kind of freedom for the right kind of person…

        • Rusty P Bucket says:

          Aw yes…the poor oppres sed queers.

          What abot the pedos and rapists Mark? Aren’t they worth you sympathy too?

          Freedom is for ‘people’. Not mental head cases, sex pervs and criminals.

        • Marko Kloos says:

          You need to get it into your calcified skull that “queer” is not synonymous with “rapist” or “pedo” (most of which are straight, BTW), and that standing up for queers doesn’t mean defending rapists or pedos.

          Until then, whenever someone mentions homosexuals on my blog, you should probably keep those twitchy fingers in check, and refrain from hitting the Comment button, lest I start taking creative editing liberties with your missives.

        • Al Terego says:

          “refrain from hitting the Comment button, lest I start taking creative editing liberties with your missives.”

          imo, and fwiw: to “delete” is one thing, to “edit” a whole ‘nother kettle…and a very slippery slope.

          One would think that you, especially, would grok the difference.

          AT

        • MarkHB says:

          Go on, join the ranks of those telling him how to run his own blog.

          Freedom! As long as it’s for what I like!

        • Al Terego says:

          Marko’s place, and everything here is his to do with as he pleases.

          And deleting unacceptable commentary is understandable; I’ve invited it myself.

          Altering another’s words and meanings is another dimension entirely, as he well knows, and if that should occur, I’m right out.

          Yeah, yeah, I know…no big loss, at least in the view of some.

          AT

        • MarkHB says:

          Your words are of hatred, intolerance and bigotry.

          Your value of them is inconsequential to those who value acceptance of that which harms no-one.

        • Rusty P Bucket says:

          Calcified skull…Ha ha! I like you, Munchkin.

          yes there are days when my old noggin doesn’t fire on all 8. And I’m sorry, if you want to run a glee club here where everyone aggrees with you or they’re out…do what ya got to do I guess. Perhaps I misjudged you.

          You r post is a bout small victories so fill your boots – but snot and snark doesn’t make your right about butt blasters and pedos.

        • MarkHB says:

          I think the calcified skull comment is that “gay” is a third gender, entirely supported across the natural world in many species, and a simple fact of natural life.

          If you insist on calling it “an illness to be cured” then you might as well put “blue eyes” and “red hair” in there as well, because it’s simply something that people are.

          That’s putting it very, very politely. For the last time.

        • Tam says:

          Freedom is for ‘people’.

          Well, that pretty much leaves you right out, doesn’t it?

        • MarkHB says:

          Damn. At least I’m only a whirling arsehole when I’m drunk.

        • og says:

          Is a whirling asshole anything like a revolving asshole? (Any way you turn him, he’s an asshole)

          Enquiring minds…

      • aczarnowski says:

        Hopefully that was part of the negotiations and you agreed to it. Otherwise, sheesh, how many times you gotta slap a guy?

    • Tam says:

      Oh… out of interest. Gay Cooties Excision in that edition? Or are gays people too?

      I’m sure that his ghostwriter printed whatever Maj. Caudill sent him. Let’s not go throwing our arms out of our sockets stretching for a point.

      • MarkHB says:

        Tam,

        My rotator cuff is entirely intact, inasmuch as the revised edition’s citation contains the URL to the original essay, gay cooties included, and the printed edition excised the Offensive Word.

        • MarkHB says:

          Maybe I have an exaggerated sense of respect for oppressed minorities, as I regard my own youth as a rejected weirdo. It’s not enough to be accepted and acceptable now, because my work is helping J.J. Abrams get another Emmy Award. This is why I’m tolerated. Because I win awards for people. My weird is not a gay man’s weird, but it is – indisputably – a weird.

          Those who would disarm and allow to die those who are different would disarm and allow to die myself. I do not fit a dogma, a politcal party or a philosophical frame. I am inconvenient, and not aligned easily.

          So those who excise the gay from Marko’s essay would also leave me undefended, and let me die in the cold because I do not espouse their philosophy in toto.

          So you’ll forgive me for being a tad loquacious on the subject of those who will defend liberty- except when they don’t like the person whose liberty they defend.

        • Tam says:

          Maybe I have an exaggerated sense of respect for oppressed minorities…

          Don’t even start down that road with me, okay? It turns my stomach.

        • MarkHB says:

          First drunk post in ages. Oops.

        • Al Terego says:

          Thank you, Tam, for saving me from another interminable and endless if not pointless exchange.

          “Ah feeel yer paaiinn…” Barf.

          AT

        • MarkHB says:

          Go on, Mr. Passive-Aggressive, don’t let a thread having come to a conclusion stop you from jumping in with both feet.

          For the record, whilst it was a pissed post (bit of a crowdsourced wake, old mate had just died) I own what I said. As a freaky geeky bloke, the majority rule isn’t for me. If you go around de-personing people and removing their basic civil rights because you don’t like them, then well.. “facist” is a word that springs to mind. The Constitution exists to moderate and modulate the power of majority rule.

          As to the bleedy-hearty bit of it – tough shit. I’m an artist. We’re thenthitive and dewicate cweatureth. Fucking get over it.

        • MarkHB says:

          Better ask if I support kiddie rapists and muggers while you’re at it, complete the set why’n’cha.

        • Al Terego says:

          Nothing to get over, Mark for me anyway.

          Justify with artsy sensitivity or reckless substance abuse if you will, but it is the assignation of the motives of others that springs that “f” word of yours to my mind.

          AT

        • MarkHB says:

          I’m not the one espousing the stripping of rights from people, Mr. Hide-Behind-Anonymity.

          Next time I have used goods to sell, I’ll be careful which shop I sell at.

  5. johnjacobh says:

    Okay, now I have a place to put this instead of Krunchenzeit.

    You are right about gay cooties.

    http://www.freerepublic.com/focus/f-chat/2529557/posts

    In Liberty,
    JJH

    • MarkHB says:

      I don’t quite understand, but I think you tried to act with honour. Thank you on behalf of my friend.

      • johnjacobh says:

        Clarification: Major Caudill appeared on Free Republic Message Board June 7th, 2010 and I posted notice under Krunchenzeit with link should Mr. Kloos wish to keep track of such incidents since posts on this blog about Major Caudill are closed to new comments.

        It is the version which eliminates reference to a gay single man.

        Heaven help me, I have joined the ranks of cryptic correspondents after only two years of bloggery.

        Apologies.

        In Liberty,
        JJH

  6. Al Terego says:

    Since I kind of owe you one as I was perceived to have crapped on your coffee table or something like that in the making of a legitimate point a while back, and further since I don’t mind a buck or two going to royalties for Nugent, I’m dropping those seventeen dollars into your “services rendered” jar so that you may add that paperback of questionable literary value but inestimable worth to your writer’s resume to your collection of processed wood products; I for one think it’s a pretty big f’n deal…congratulations.

    AT

  7. Al Terego says:

    Um, only now I can’t find the pay slot? WTF kind of capitalism is this? AT

Comments are closed.