reason #213,188 my wife rocks.

Check out what the UPS dude dropped off today:

That, friends and neighbors, is a box of haggis.  Twelve cans of premium lamb haggis from Caledonian Kitchen, almost eleven pounds in total.  My dear wife ordered it last weekend without telling me about it.  If I hadn’t eaten dinner already, and if I had rutabagas in the house, I’d have some right now, and wash it down with a good single malt.

(Haggis-hating heretics, you may hold your tongues.  This stuff confers superpowers, like being able to drink lethal amounts of Scotch, and kill English invaders by the job lot.)

17 thoughts on “reason #213,188 my wife rocks.

  1. pdb says:

    That is the scariest shit I’ve seen all week.

  2. Canthros says:

    Canned haggis both intrigues and terrifies me, truth be told.

  3. Heath J says:

    It’s effects are similar to those of Popeye and his can of spinach. Except Haggis gives one the overwhelming urge to heft a Claymore and paint up with Woad.

  4. ZerCool says:

    I like haggis… But I have to agree with Canthros. Intrigued and terrified.

  5. Joel says:

    Canned Haggis, oh my. An obtrusively Scottish friend has a can he keeps threatening to inflict on me. I told him I was once-fooled by canned menudo, and he should come talk to me when Scotland actually wins a war of independence against England.

  6. haggisforbrains says:

    Ye Pow’rs wha mak mankind your care,
    And dish them out their bill o ‘fare,
    Auld Scotland wants nae skinking ware
    That jaups in luggies;
    But, if ye wish her gratefu’ prayer,
    Gie her a Haggis!

    Wonderful stuff. You’re a lucky man to have such a wife!

  7. divemedic says:

    To quote Michael Myers: “I think most Scottish cuisine is based on a dare.”

  8. Al T. says:

    So, what does it taste like?

  9. fodder4thought says:

    My father once had a single can of haggis that aomeone had given him as a joke. He dutifully accepted it for what it was and put it in the pantry with the rest of the canned goods. The next time I saw it, about a year later, it was still in the pantry but it was bulged on the sides and oblong, like something inside was trying to get out.

    And it was warm.

  10. Casey says:

    So, how do you prepare it? Both the canned haggis and the rutabagas? I like the rutabagas diced and tossed with salt, pepper, a little rosemary and olive oil, then roasted in the oven until the get slightly browned with a little crunch. However, I’ve only ever had haggis at the various Highland Games that come around. That stuff is usually just like uncased sausage on a bit of pastry or bun. Not really sure about the authenticity of it.

    So give us a break down of how you like it, I might be tempted to order some myself. The fair version is always good…

    Casey

  11. Außenseiter says:

    Is it better than Blutwurst?

  12. Eric says:

    On How It’s Made, they showed how http://www.macsween.co.uk/ makes its haggis. I can imagine there’s the purist who would turn their nose up at canned haggis, but I’m with Mike Myers – you’d have to dare me to eat the stuff!

  13. mts1 says:

    After looking at the haggis photo at the link to Caledonia Kitchen, it looks exactly like what the Poles call kishka, and what we Croats call kobasica. If that’s all haggis is, I don’t know what the big scary deal is. Enjoy it with sauerkraut and potatoes and gravy. I was actually expecting you to open the can and have a stuffed sheep’s stomach plop out into the bowl, not just the ground contents sans stomach bag, like it was a sandwich spread.

  14. For those of you wondering and wincing, it’s actually pretty darned good. It’s very, very savory, so you definitely want to serve with the lightly sweet starch of rutabagas to contrast, and it’s heavy enough and flavorful enough you feel full after not much, but it’s good stuff.

  15. I’ve been trolling here for a while, and have enjoyed it, but imagine my suprise at seeing this post! I lived in a rural town in north louisiana most of my life and I lived next door to one of the joint owners of Caledonia Kitchen for several years. I never ate his haggis, but he’s a hell of a guy, with an awesomely stocked beer fridge, and a willingness to share. The company your wife purchased from is ran by some of the nicest, most down to earth people you’ll ever meet. Props on the goods, man.

  16. john b says:

    Calendonian Kitchen, Thanks Marko! I was just wondering where to get pricy gourmet canned goods.

    I forsee debt in my future.

    I hope they take Food Stamps😀

Comments are closed.