lament of the magic elf box.

Oh, hey, what’s up?  This is Marko’s computer.  Yeah, that new Mac mini he got from his wife a few months back.

Where is he?  Damifino.  Haven’t seen him around in a while.  A week or two ago, he had this sudden reorganizing fit, and he shoved me onto a shelf on the windowsill.  Three months old, shiny and new with most of my AppleCare warranty period left…you’d figure the guy wouldn’t get tired of looking at me any time soon, but there you have it.  He moved the monitor as well…just sort of kitty-cornered it on the edge of the desk.  Said he needed the space for his stupid writing, and that I wasn’t the main reason he’s sitting at that desk, anyway.  Can you believe it?

Here’s another thing: he doesn’t even keep me running all day, like he used to.  Checks his email and stuff over tea in the morning, and then just hits the power button again.  I mean, what’s the point of having me if he’s not going to surf the Internet all day?  And don’t get me started on those poor World of Warcraft characters of his.  I mean, I get to do some work for a few hours in the evening at least, but those guys are bored out of their skulls.  They’re just hanging around in some tavern in Azeroth, talking about all the monsters they’re going to kill, like a bunch of AD&D geeks.

So yeah, he’s either fixing stuff around the house, playing with the kids, or working on that novel of his.  Like that’s ever going to amount to anything.  Why can’t he spend his time sensibly, with me?

Anybody want to adopt me? I’m yearning to spend all day posting Facebook updates and playing MafiaFarmWars…

3 thoughts on “lament of the magic elf box.

  1. Eric says:

    Maybe if you looked like a real computer, you know, with drive bays and blinking lights Marko would take you seriously. What kind of work can you do on a computer named “Mini” anyway?

    Seriously, I’d take a Mini in a heartbeat!

  2. Snarky says:

    I’d love to give you a new home, Mister Mac Mini. Just say the word and I’ll open my heart and home for you.

  3. Jay G. says:

    Dear Marko’s Computer,

    Please tempt Marko with some of that sweet, sweet pr0n to get him to come back to you.

    The internet needs more Marko.

    Sincerely,

    Teh intarwebz.

Comments are closed.