a new week, and let’s not squander it.

Hello, world!

I feel like I just rejoined the rest of you after a three-week vacation on Planet Pain.  Today is my second day in a relatively pain-free state.  Putting on my socks still pinches a bit, but I can get around and Do Stuff without having to float on a mental cushion of Oxycodone and Dilaudid.

We have a visitor coming tomorrow (one of my VP pals), and the house is mostly clean, so I just need to do some finishing touches domestically, and take the kids out to the playground.  We haven’t been there in a while, thanks to Daddy being laid up and howling like a depressed timber wolf, so we’ll go out and catch up on the fun-having this morning.  I had a very enlightening dream that was disturbing and motivating at the same time, and it dovetails neatly into one of the novel ideas I’ve been carrying around in my noggin for a while, so I’ll be taking a few notes while the kids try to injure themselves in spectacular ways on the slides and monkey bars.

The weather’s great, I have a friend coming over to stay for two days, and the back pain has subsided.  (Don’t worry, I’ll still be taking it very easy for a while.)  Life is all of a sudden really tolerable again.  Amazing how much your outlook can change in a fortnight.

3 thoughts on “a new week, and let’s not squander it.

  1. Jay G. says:

    Glad to hear you’re feeling better, Marko.

    I remember from my early experiences with gout how much it sucked not being able to do the stuff I normally do with the kids. I also remember the “howling like a depressed timber wolf” part…

  2. Shootin' Buddy says:

    Have you checked into yoga yet?

    You have to be around hippies and candles, but while on downward dog or the like, I concentrate on other stuff like guns or cutting the capital gains tax. It’s my happy place.

  3. Ted N(not the Nuge) says:

    Oh, my, haven’t checked your blog for awhile, had no idea. Sorry to hear about all the pain, hope your recovery is going quickly and that you feel better soon.

Comments are closed.