your piece of booze trivia for the day.

The May 13, 1806 edition of the New York publication Balance and Columbian Repository offers us the first definition of the term cocktail:

Cocktail is a stimulating liquor composed of spirits of any kind, sugar,water, and bitters—it is vulgarly called a bittered sling and is supposed to be an excellent electioneering potion, inasmuch as it renders the heart stout and bold, at the same time that it fuddles the head. It is said, also to be of great use to a Democratic candidate: because a person, having swallowed a glass of it, is ready to swallow anything else.

24 thoughts on “your piece of booze trivia for the day.

  1. MarkHB says:

    Democrats and Republicans have switched ends so many times over the years, I honestly don’t know who’s what then.

    Come to that, having realised that American politics is entire fact-and-issue free and is all about scoring points off the other team and fuck the facts has been a great relief to me. It exonerates me from having anything to do with that whirling maelstrom of bullshit and lets me knuckle down on building a financial fortress against the future. I actually have come to pity everyone with a Firm Part Affiliation, because they have proven themselves factproof and therefore not worthy of my discourse, time or attention.

    Amazing how one’s eyes open over time.

    • al vee says:

      I am totally 100% with you Mark HB. It is all a huge show put on for the hopeful and the gullible. Republicans and Democrats, two heads same monster. I am doing what you are doing, worrying about what is left of my own life, making what I can and protecting it from outside forces.The American people seem to be content with this whirling maelstrom of BS as you put it, and I cannot abide that, yet I also realize I can’t change it, because, as Ron White says, “You can’t cure stupid.” I am glad I am not the only one who feels this way. Good luck to you in building your fortress.

    • Tam says:

      It’s easy to tell a party line Dem position from a GOP one: The one wants to give you Big Government and the other one wants to give you Big Government with a side order of Jesus. Duh.

    • Tam says:

      It exonerates me from having anything to do with that whirling maelstrom of bullshit and lets me knuckle down on building a financial fortress against the future.

      Hope that fortress is built of ammo boxes, cans of SPAM, and precious metals and not something dumb, like FRNs, which aren’t even all that good at removing dingleberries and make awful tinder…

      • MarkHB says:

        I actually had to google “FRN” then. Fortunately I’m *FINALLY* hunkered down in NM where I can buy things like boxes of ammo. Having bank accounts in both the UK and the US, I see how hideously fragile the whole financial system is (you should look up the records on US/UK exchange rate, and track that against the BP spill if you fancy an eye-opener).

        The money’s worth what the Gubment tells us it is. And what does the Gubment speak? Bullshit! Hooray. So, yeah.

        Wacky fun.

      • Außenseiter says:

        Ammo, guns, precious metals.
        Is all that gonna save you from dying alone?

        Just curious.

        • Tam says:

          You seem awfully obsessed with this “dying alone” thing. Is there something you’d like to talk about?

        • Außenseiter says:

          I have a hard time understanding why anyone who has the means (financial security) refrains from procreating at some point in their lives…

          I mean, it’s no fun in the beginning, but after a decade of effort, many benefits become apparent.

          If you have some serious medical condition though, I offer my apologies and a sincere promise to shut up.

        • MarkHB says:

          Not being funny, but nothing saves one from dying alone – not even being surrounded by loving family and friends, your last awareness will still be in the confines of your skull. Sorry to be the one to break it to you.

          As to why I might not want kids… nunya.😛

        • Außenseiter says:

          That’s pure nitpicking😀

          There’s a world of difference between spending your last months in a warehouse for the dying (hospice, or nursing home) and spending them in the care of your descendants.
          I’m definitely not looking forward to caring for my father when he gets really old and unable to care for himself, due to him being something of a regional champion in pointless drama and histronics, nevertheless, it’s something one just does in the more humane part of my family, no ifs or buts.

          Nunya? None of your business? Well, sure. But anyone who can afford to and ought to have kids, being capable, healthy, well-off, of sound mind and all that and doesn’t ..( in contrast to dumb,unskilled trash that has kids even if they wouldn’t be able to even train a dog properly) is in my eyes a traitor to our species and to the whole idea of civilization.

        • MarkHB says:

          Fortunately, your opinion is entirely immaterial to me.

        • Außenseiter says:

          But that doesn’t change the truth of my assertion. Helping the dysgenic trend by increasing the percentage of unemployable people in society is selfish….

  2. LittleRed1 says:

    Used to be, if the politician got caught with his trousers down, it was a Democrat. If he got caught with his hand in the till, it was a Republican. Now, as Mark says, they tend to overlap.

  3. Me thinks both parties have been guzzling out of the same cup for decades, all the while telling us to pick up the tab.

  4. al vee says:

    hey MArk, I am also in NM, in Abq metro, but not “hunkered down” so to speak.

  5. al vee says:

    ,
    One does not have to be alone to disappear off the grid.Nor does one need guns or a fort. Having grown up in NYC, I know how easy it is to melt into the landscape. Not something I am planning on doing just yet. One can have one’s friends, and acquaintances while builing one’s fortress as Mark talks about. More of a virtual fortress really.You have no clue how many millionaires do this.Steven King was quite adept at this.

    Then of course, there is the other way..actually building a fortress and really disappearing, like into the backwoods or something. And you know what. There are a lot of people doing that too. There are some worst fates than dying alone, like letting the government bleed you until you are dead, with everyone watching, wondering if they are next.

    • MarkHB says:

      Yup. Times are even more troubled than usual, and there’s never been a better time to keep (as the good Admiral wrote) one’s clothes and weapons where one can find them in the dark. That in no way precludes making new friends and acquaintances, nor does it mean that life should stop.

      Entirely the opposite.

      That said, what is this “financial security” of which you speak? Sure, if everything goes wrong in my professional life, I can flip burgers and keep body and soul just about in the same room. But that willingness to take any job going doesn’t equate to “financial security”. Sadly, I’m neither a banker or a lawyer having decided at an early age to go for a career I’d enjoy – therefore, as with most people these days, “Financial Security” is strictly for the next month at best. If I get injured or sick, I’m screwed. If I don’t find more work in the next month, I’m screwed. If I melt my laptop without the money to replace it, I’m screwed. And I’m hardly alone in that.

  6. al vee says:

    You are right Mark, in the final analysis, we are alone, just us.When we step off into the Bardo, we step alone.

  7. al vee says:

    It would seem to me Aubens, that what we are all for here,on this forum, I would hope, is the exercise of personal freedom.You seem to be quite opposed to this concept. In fact, the sentiments you express seem to come right out of the Nazi manual. If you want to populate the world, get at it, populate as many as you want, no one is stopping you, as long as you can pay for it on your own.
    As for “civilization”..the concept is relative at best.One man’s “civilization” is another’s tyranny. Benito Mussolini made it mandatory that everyone that could have children, had to have children, to strengthen his “civilization.” It is just as bad as telling people, like the Chicoms,that you can’t have kids, the way you have told some unnamed “white trash” that they should not have kids.
    Why do I have the feeling that one could easily replace the words “traitor to civilization” with “traitor to your race.” I find that feeling disturbing, but I have heard these words before.
    I am not sure I know where you are coming from, but I think I have a good idea.
    I don’t know if that is what people on this site are about. I know I am not.And if that IS what this site is about, count me out. But I don’t think it is.

  8. al vee says:

    *
    <<<>>>

    Make it coffee Mark and I am down for it.I avoid alcohol and its watering holes. Personal choice.

  9. al vee says:

    Mark, you are dealing here with a person who detests the concept of personal freedom. I think it is becoming clear where he is coming from. Let it go.I know I will.

Comments are closed.