the wonderful world of cocktails.

Hey, Internets!  Let’s talk about alcohol for a moment.

Here’s a secret—just between you, me, and the 1,000 people who read this blog on an average weekday:  I don’t drink nearly as much as you might think from my Twitter and Facebook updates.  In fact, when it comes to hard liquor in general, I was woefully undereducated until recently.  I have to admit with considerable shame that I used to drink pre-mixed cocktails, and my main use for liquor was limited to Rum & Coke.  Now I understand that pre-mixed liquor is vile and abominable, and that the $$8-per-half-gallon Mr. Paint Thinner rum isn’t even suitable for mixing with soda.

In the last month or two, I started experimenting.  I bought top-shelf liquor, and then I mixed classic cocktails I hadn’t tried before, just to check them off my list.  And boy howdy, is there a difference between a Margarita made with good agave tequila, fresh lime juice, and quality Triple Sec, and the pre-mixed stuff that has that fluorescent shade to it.  The high-quality cocktail actually has nuances and flavor to it, whereas the pre-mixed stuff tastes like Margarita-flavored Gatorade.

I’ve also tried a White Lady for the first time, which uses lemon juice and Cointreau to give a citrus-y, sweet/sour/bitter edge to the gin.  Then there’s the Cosmopolitan, which I like a lot even though I am given to understand it’s a girly drink, and that I’ll get my Testosterone Club card revoked if I publically admit to enjoying a pink cocktail.  Lastly, I’ve finally mixed a proper Moscow Mule, which is the most refreshing summertime long drink ever

That’s my education on the subject of booze: buy high-quality components, mix your cocktails from scratch, and leave the pre-mixed crap on the shelf.  I’ve never been a fan of cocktails, but it turns out I just wasn’t ever properly introduced to this entirely new and exciting world of inebriation.

What about you?  What’s your favorite cocktail?  Let me have your recipe, so I can put it together in my little test kitchen.  (Maybe I should shop around the concept for a daytime cooking-related show?)

58 thoughts on “the wonderful world of cocktails.

  1. Dare I mention Rum Punch? Start with a good rum of your choice. Add pineapple and grapefruit juices and some grenadine. Mix well, serve over ice and garnish with a maraschino cherry.

  2. Jason says:

    My favorite cocktail right now is a Dark ‘n Stormy, which is Ginger Beer (try Goslings and definitely don’t use Canada ginger ale) and a shot of dark rum (again, try Goslings) over ice.

    It’s not sweet and sticky like most soda based cocktails and tastes great during the summer.

    • brian says:

      Better still, make your own ginger beer. It’s crazy easy and you’ll never buy ginger ale again. Google for instructions.

  3. Jeff says:

    If you want a good education in classic cocktails, check out http://www.drinkboy.com. Discovering that site in college saved me from years of nasty tequila and shitty beer.

    My favorite cocktail is probably the Manhattan. My favorite recipe is 2oz Booker’s Bourbon, 1oz Vya sweet vermouth, 2-3 dashes angostura bitters. Be careful, as Bookers is about 125proof.

    My summer drink of late is the Singapore Sling:
    1.5oz gin
    0.5oz cherry heering
    0.25 oz cointreau
    0.25 oz benedictine
    4 oz pineapple juice
    0.5oz lime juice
    0.33oz grenadine syrup
    1 dash Angostura bitters

    It’s a pretty involved recipe as cocktails go, so I generally mix them by the pitcher.

  4. JP says:

    Take a glass and put some ice in it (or leave it out – whatever you prefer)
    Pour some Maker’s Mark whiskey into it.

    Enjoy

  5. Is this new interest in any way connected to your back pain?

  6. Knitebane says:

    Ingredients:

    George Dickel No. 12 Tennessee Whiskey

    Instructions:

    Pour 3-4 oz. of whiskey into a clean* glass.
    Enjoy.

    Notes:

    * Clean glass optional if wife is out of town.

    • eli says:

      Whenever it calls for rum, use Jamaican rum, silver or gold. Makes the rest feel like sugar water.

      I don’t know if its a cocktail, but I do like Black Russians. 4 parts Absolut, 1 part Kahlua (dark is good).

  7. Papa Whiskey says:

    Fill a sun tea jar with 2″ square pieces of watermelon. Cover the melon with halfway decent vodka and let sit in the fridge overnight. Pour some of this wonderful stuff into a glass with ice and soda water. Ahh summer.

    Warning: Be VERY careful about eating the fruit. It will knock your socks off.

    • ohh, I’m going to have to run out and try that one!

    • This is either amazingly subtle (in which case it won’t work with my taste buds) or I’m doing it wrong.

      I think I need to juice the melon next time, and then maybe freeze and skim out the slush to concentrate the flavor. Then dilute with 190 proof grain spirits

      • Papa Whiskey says:

        A bunch of the acohol ends up in the fruit so it takes more parts watka to equal the same amount of vodka. Just eat a couple of pieces of the fruit with each cocktal.

        • jeez, it gets me plenty drunk, just fine, thanks. I put four ounces of the stuff in a mason jar and added ice and soda water to the 12 oz line. The only issue is that it tastes like a vodka-selzter

  8. Rob K says:

    Jeff’s already beaten me to the Manhattan, but I’ll add that I like a splash of maraschino cherry juice in it, with a maraschino cherry for garnish. Also, experiment with bonded bourbons if you can get them. They are the best deal in whiskey.

    There’s always the Martini: 3 or 5 parts gin, 1 part dry vermouth, garnish with an olive or a twist.

    Mojitos are a great summer drink: pull a big sprig of mint from the patch in the yard (everyone has one, right?), put it in your glass with a half-jigger of lime juice and a spoonful of extra fine sugar, then muddle with a wooden spoon. Top that up with a jigger or so of rum (I like dark rums) then top up the glass with ice and fill with soda water. All that only takes a couple of minutes. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mojito)

    • williamthecoroner says:

      I’m a big fan of the gimlet. 1.5 oz good gin. Bombay or Tanqueray or something like that. Bad gin is turpentine, good gin is worth it. And 1 oz Rose’s lime juice. Ice. Serve with a slice of lime.

      It’s good, refreshing, the gin and citrus combination works well. As a plus, you get to annoy all the hipster waitstaff when they ask “what vodka would you like with that?” So you can reply “Bombay”.

  9. Jeff says:

    Another good one I picked up from Toro (a restaurant in Boston) is a variation of the Caipirinha. Take 1/2 lime and cut it in to 4 wedges. Dip the wedges in sugar and caramelize on a hot grill. Muddle in a glass, add ice and cachaca (brazilian rum-like spirit).

  10. Eric says:

    Laphroaig, 10 year old or Quarter Cask.

  11. A good mojito…with good tequila, fresh lime juice, and fresh (from the garden if you’ve got it) mint.

    If you feel the need to get your Man Card back after the Cosmo, try a Tom Collins or a Harvey Wallbanger

    Not truly cocktails, but still two of my seasonal favorites…sangria in summer, and Gluehwein in winter.

    Being ein Deutschlander, Marko, I’m sure you’ve got a good recipe for Gluehwein. Care to share?

  12. RevolverRob says:

    As my friends are want to say, “When you graduate from the University of Texas you automatically get a minor in alcohol.”

    Favorite drinks:

    Cuba Libre, essentially your favorite rum and coke but squeeze a whole lime into it, it really changes the flavor.

    Gin and Tonic, Broker’s British Gin (the best gin on the market), 1 whole line sliced in half or quarters. Squeeze lime into martini shaker, dump lime body in after you’ve squeezed the juice, two-three shots of gin into the martini shaker, fill with ice. Shake it until it is so cold you can’t hold onto the shaker anymore. Take your cocktail glass, two ice cubes, dump the gin and well mixed lime into the glass, fill with tonic water.

    Mexican Breakfast (my own creation), orange juice, Simply Fresh Limeade, agave tequila (silver will do for mixing, keep the aged stuff for your Caballitos). Use a champagne goblet or wine glass, one shot of tequila, two ounces of limeade, the rest with orange juice. Dump it all into a cold martini shaker and shake well.

    Here’s a fun one for a hot day, Woodchuck hard cider, the blackberry flavor is the best. Get it cold, pour it into a glass and dump two shots of good clean vodka (Grey Goose really IS good, but Svedka will do) into it. The flavor of the cider isn’t affected by the vodka, but it certainly helps you on achieving the inebriation level and add a little kick to the Woodchuck.

    -Rob

  13. D_NO says:

    I like the Derby:

    1.5 oz blended whiskey
    .5 oz sweet vermouth
    .5 oz Cointreau
    .5 oz Fresh squeezed lime

    Shake with ice, strain into ice filled old fashioned glass

  14. Tam says:

    And boy howdy, is there a difference between a Margarita made with good agave tequila, fresh lime juice, and quality Triple Sec, and the pre-mixed stuff that has that fluorescent shade to it.

    Sometimes I really miss Byron.😦

    I keep meaning to do up a remembrance right, but I need to get a Big Gulp cup from some c-store chain first.

    If you’re gonna live, live large.😉

  15. Mike Dodson says:

    I spent several years (in my dissolute youth) exploring the virtues of spiritus frumenti. I have been a host, a bartender (commercially), and a club owner. I have served and sampled virtually every type of cocktail and spiritous imbibiation that has ever been concocted or imagined. What do I drink now: George Dickel 12-year-old Bourbon, with club soda, slowly, on a Saturday afternoon.

  16. kbyrd says:

    Homemade margaritas turned me around on tequila. Great stuff.

    The classic recipe is 3:2:1, tequila:orange liqueur:lime juice. That’s a good way to lose an afternoon, so I’ve been drinking 2:2:1 instead. On the rocks, not blended. Also, try cointreau instead of triple sec. It’s a bit less sweet.

    • kbyrd says:

      I forgot to add. If you’re mixing it, got for a blanco or reposado tequila. The anejo or gold is for sipping.

      • RevolverRob says:

        “Gold” tequila is not actually true tequila. It doesn’t meet the standards and is more of a tequila blend than true tequila. The only “true” tequila is Silver, Reposado, and Anejo.

        For sipping Anejo and high end Reposados are the way to go. Reposados are aged 3 years and Anejos aged 5. They are both very good and you don’t have to buy Patron to find great tequila. Milagro, Jose Cuervo (ya…that Jose) Reposados and Anejos are very good, as are Sauza and Patron is good too.

        There are only a handful of tequila distilleries and they are all in the same region of Mexico. The various tequila brands you see are typically subsidiaries of one of the original family distillers. The reality is, when you drink a high end tequila you may actually just be drinking aged Cuervo silver. If that brand is owned by Cuervo (which a lot of them are).

        For your margaritas, blend gold or silver tequila, cointreau, and the margarita mix of your choice. The way I do mine is in a smoothie blender, I crush the ice by hand first then blend it smooth. It takes A LOT of work to get the consistency of a margarita machine, so you just settle for what you get. My favorite mix is: Lots of ice, crushed, half a bottle of margarita mix, a mix of cointreau and triple sec (about 3 ounces of each), 10 ounces of tequila. Although, admittedly when I make Margaritas I usually just turn the tequila bottle upside down and count “glugs” as it it empties, six “glugs” and you’re on the strong side.

        -Rob <–Tequila connoisseur.

        • Jeff says:

          Reposados are aged between 2 months and one year, and anejos are aged more than 1 year. Extra Anejo was created recently for tequilas aged more than 3 years.

          IMO a true connoisseur would never use bottled margarita mix, that stuff is nasty. Freshly squeezed lime juice is the only way to go.

  17. ZerCool says:

    I’m a lover of Manhattans, myself. Perhaps not a connoisseur, but…

    1.5 measures bourbon (I tend to use Evan Williams, which is inexpensive but quite acceptable. MrsZ likes a sweeter drink and substitutes Southern Comfort for whiskey.)
    1 measure sweet vermouth
    splash dry vermouth
    splash maraschino syrup
    3 dashes bitters

    Shake with ice, strain into a chilled rocks glass, garnish with a cherry.

    Gin and tonic is a perennial summer-evening drink, as are mojitos.

    Rye and ginger. Vodka and ginger (use a flavored vodka, 1 measure in a highball full of ice, topped off with ginger ale).

  18. El Capitan says:

    On the rare occasions I want something other than Maker’s Mark or something old & peaty with a Highland burr, I’m partial to the Jack Rose cocktail. Mix applejack, lemon juice & grenadine, shake over ice, pour into a cocktail glass and garnish with a cherry. You can substitute Calvados if you can’t find applejack.

  19. Gentleman Jack.
    Neat.

  20. Heath J says:

    On a hot day, it’s hard to beat a tall vodka tonic.

    A glass, ice cubes, fresh lime wedges, QUALITY tonic water, and some halfway decent vodka, it’s excellent.

    To prepare, fill a tall glass up 3/4 with ice, pour vodka in til’ it’s about 1/3 of the way full. Then, squeeze a generous hunk of lime over the vodka and ice, and float with tonic water.

    Hard to beat, when it’s hotter than balls out.

  21. MaddMedic says:

    Scotch. Neat. Sometimes with an ice cube or two.

    Crown Royal, Chivas Regal, Bushmills, neat or with an ice cube or two.

    Only way to go!

  22. I’ll add homemade Limoncello. I’m using the recipe here making it with grocery store lemons and “golden grain” 190 proof. If you follow the recipe, you’ll see it gets diluted down to about 80 percent.

    Store in freezer, with the shotglasses.

    Have a bottle handy when your brother gets laryngitis.

  23. paulcr39 says:

    In order, my top 3.
    3. Tom Collins: 1.5 oz gin, 1 oz lemon juice, .5 oz sugar syrup over ice into a Collins glass (tall) top with club soda. (Thank you Dad.)
    2.Vodka gimlet: 3 oz Stoly’s or Wyborowa vodka, .75 oz Rose’s lime, a fistful of ice cubes into an old fashioned glass. One lime wedge into drink, another lime wedge to rim the glass with limey goodness. Hold in hand for several minutes whilst conversing, then enjoy.
    1.Bourbon & Pepsi: Maker’s Mark, Wild Turkey or any bourbon that comes out of a bottle with a cork and Pepsi on the rocks in a large, preferably big plastic one. You enjoy this in the back yard with your next door neighbor or best friend. My next door neighbor, Officer Shane turned me onto this one. We enjoy them on his deck while mocking the current administration.

  24. Al Terego says:

    The Baldwin Recipe.

    Or alternatively, any really good White Lightnin’.

    Nectar of the Southern gods.

    Mixers, water, ice? Blasphemy.

    AT

  25. DJMoore says:

    A well-made Irish Coffee is the reason Darwin gave me taste buds.

    1 1/2 oz Irish whiskey
    1 tsp sugar
    6 oz hot coffee
    heavy cream

    This is just a starter recipe from off the net; I’ve adjusted mine to fit my favorite mug and my sweet tooth, and have no idea what the actual quantities are (I’m guessing not as much whiskey for somewhat more coffee, proportionally speaking, and I like mine pretty sweet.) I’ve had it at the Buena Vista bar in San Francisco, said to be the original source of the drink, and found their recipe excellent:
    http://www.thebuenavista.com/irishcoffee2.html
    They stock their own custom whiskey just for this.

    I regret to say alcohol and my taste buds generally don’t get along very well. That means that I can’t comment on how important the quality of Irish is. Bushmill’s and Yuban coffee has always done well for me.

    Don’t skimp on the cream. Aerosol whipped cream is sacrilege, to say nothing of Cool Whip and its ilk. Use real, honest to Elsie heavy, and whip until just before it starts to peak, so that it’s still pourable. I keep a bowl and a hand-cranked beater in the freezer just for this. Sweeten the cream as well as the coffee.

    Stir the coffee, sugar, and whiskey together, then pour on a nice head of cream. Ideally, when you tilt your glass or mug, the coffee slips out under the cream, so they mix right at your lips. Drink piping hot, and get it down quickly before it cools.

    Before I learned about Irish Coffee, I could not stand the taste of either whiskey or coffee. Together, though, and buffered by cream and sugar, they’re perfect. Interestingly, Irish Coffee taught my taste buds and brain how to appreciate both whiskey and coffee separately.

    A toast to Larry Niven, who got me curious about Irish Coffee in his SF story, “The Fourth Profession”. I think Spider Robinson also had a hand in turning me on to it, although I can’t quite remember where.

    I’ll also second the mojito as an ideal summer drink. Sweeten with simple syrup; granular sugar causes the soda water to go flat.

    • Papa Whiskey says:

      Had one (or six) at the Buena Vista once. Best Irish I’ve had. When making one or two at a time they hit the cream in a blender for 2-3 seconds. Perfection.

    • George Smith says:

      Never knew why I didn’t like Irish Coffee … until I had one made with Bushmill’s Irish whiskey. Makes all the difference in the world.

  26. Mithras61 says:

    My favorite Margarita:
    1 small can frozen limeade (pref. Minute Maid)
    1 small can decent quality tequila (pref. Jose Cuervo)
    ice

    Place limeade & tequila in a heavy duty blender. Fill blender with ice. Blend until smooth.

    Notes:
    1) Blenders of the non-heavy duty type have been killed using this recipe. Only use blenders of heavy duty quality or you’ll burn out the motor.

    2) This is a tart margarita, but if you like them sweeter, add a bit of triple sec (I suggest you be stingy with it, but I like ’em tart).

    My favorite “hot weather” drink – Gin & Tonic:
    1 oz. Tanqueray or other high-quality gin
    1/4 lime
    good tonic water
    ice

    Take a tall glass and rub the lime wedge around the lip. Squeeze the juice out of the wedge into the bottom of the glass and then place the wedge in the bottom. Fill the glass with ice and then add the gin and top off with the tonic water. stir gently.

  27. LittleRed1 says:

    I can’t drink alcohol, so I don’t have a drink of choice. But my father, USN ret., swears by Pimm’s Cup in the summer for those times when a cold wheat beer is just too heavy. I remember that it includes Pimm’s sloe gin, cucumber and (IIRC) water or really good ginger ale. Serve with ice and if you forget the cucumber, the taste is all wrong. Dad makes it by the pitcher with about 1/2 medium cucumber, sliced thin and tries to get one or two pieces of cucumber into each tumbler.

  28. aczarnowski says:

    Our staple after work wind-down beverage is the Brandy Manhattan.

    1 low ball glass with clean ice (preferably crushed)
    3 parts brandy (E&J VSOP works for us)
    1 part sweet vermouth (Martini & Rossi is fine)
    couple dashes bitters (orange or Angostura)
    spoon of cherry juice
    two maraschino cherries

    New cocktails with friends are a primary way we hang out, but this is the one we always come back to. Using Rye in the above is also tasty.

    For an up alternative, Brandy Sidecars:

    4 parts brandy
    1 part triple-sec
    1 part lemon juice

    Shake with ice and strain into chilled cocktail glasses. If mixing full shot parts, this will make two drinks.

  29. scott says:

    My personal favorite is pink gin.
    Put 3 or 4 drops of Angostura bitters in a tumbler, add 2 or 3 ice cubes, pour on ~3 jiggers of gin. (Lately I’ve been drinking new Amsterdam, but only because it’s cheaper than sapphire. Plymouth is also fine.)

    Runner up is a martini, be sure to use enough vermouth. (and gin. it isn’t a martini without gin.)

  30. jimbob86 says:

    Cocktail?

    I don’t like to complicate things.

    3 0z. glass, filled with Jim Beam.

  31. Two things:

    First, a White Russian (a.k.a. The Dude, Duder, El Duderino if you’re not into that whole brevity thing:). High ball tumbler, five ice cubes, stop just short of halfway with a good vodka (I use a handmade from Austin, TX called Tito’s, don’t know if you can get it in your neck of the woods; if not, Skyy works good). Next, roll in some Kahlua (Kamora works, tastes good, and is less expensive). Then a good half-and half poured SLOWLY – you want layers, not chocolate milk – and enjoy.

    Second, I buy good liquor when I want liquor. Leave the truly top shelf stuff for straight consumption; i.e., don’t blow a bottle of Don Julio 1942 or Jose Cuervo Especial de Familia (~$95 and ~$190, respectively) on mixed drinks. A $40-50 tequila is where that’s at. The megabuck liquor is wasted in a mixer.

    Enjoy!

    tweaker

  32. George says:

    Brandy Alexander

    1 oz brandy
    2 oz cream
    1/2 oz creme de cacao

    Shake with ice, strain, top with grated nutmeg

    As your previous correspondants have mentioned, the better quality booze, the better. I also made these en masse, in a blender, with ice. Chocolate booze ice cream!

    I developed the taste, as a lost love used to drink these.
    THEN, I found out uber-limosene liberal John Lennon said
    it was his favorite drink! ALMOST made me stop drinking it, emphasis, almost…
    Quite habit forming.

  33. aczarnowski says:

    Like everything in life, there’s a happy medium with liquor quality. When first getting into cocktails I felt I had to have the best of everything. Since then, we’ve trialed enough to know what works for us. Mid-self mostly.

    Certain things have different happy mediums of course. Anything sipped, like single malt scotch or bourbon, has us moving up the price scale. Though I like $12 Old Overholt rye fine over ice too.

  34. renosepulveda says:

    Favorite summertime cocktail? A shot of Cazadores Silver, a bite of lime then wash it all down with an ice cold pint of Sierra Nevada. Wander over to the jukebox and play some Smithereens, Lucinda Williams and Dave Alvin.

    Then come back and do it all again.

  35. George Smith says:

    Had the problem of the Cosmo served in a stemmed glass. No way did I want to drink a so obviously girlie drink. Bartender had a solution. She served it in an old fashioned glass. It was still pink … but it didn’t scream quite so loudly. She also made really good mojitos for summertime drinking.

    Regards.

  36. Cybrludite says:

    The Mint Julip is the classic summertime cocktail for me. 4-6 mint leaves and sugar to taste are muddled at the bottom of a tall glass, followed by 3 ounces of good bourbon, and shaved ice to fill. Stir well & serve.

    If you’re in an adventurous Bond-like mood, there’s always the Green Vesper. 3 parts gin, 1 part vodka, 1/2 part absinthe, shake well with ice & strain into a large martini glass. Garnish with a ribbon of lime peel.

  37. Joel says:

    I’m not really interested in cocktails, but a good friend became a bartender a few years ago and took up old-fashioned cocktails as a hobby. He got really snobby about exactly what you said: High-quality liquor and proper bitters. He mixes a helluva drink, though my palette isn’t really all that educated. But he did show me that the tequila I’ve been drinking all my life is absolute swill compared to really good tequila. I knew there was a massive difference between proper bourbon and my own Ol’ Rotgut, but I wasn’t aware there was such a massive difference in grades of tequila.

  38. Stretch says:

    In the early 20th Century a British Colonel called his officers to order and said:
    “It has come to my attention that some officers of this regiment have been ordering something called ‘cocktails’ in public. Officers of this regiment either take their whiskey straight or not at all. Dismissed.”

  39. Ancient Woodsman says:

    Gin is the appropriate libation for a woodsman. It had better be GOOD gin and not the antifreeze from the lower shelves. As you have found, you will pay for the quality, but it is worth it.

    Try a martini with all of the top-shelf gins…they are all different, and you will learn which is to apply to which of you moods depending on how you make it. Fresh ice is a key ingredient in the shaker, but the drink itself should be up. The appropriate spear for your fresh queen olives (stuffed) should definitely be wood – preferably a slice off something on your own woodlot.

    I prefer Bombay & Bombay Sapphire, but also enjoy Rangpur Tanqueray (don’t like straight Tanqueray), and Plymouth.

    Use a slice of bell pepper for the garnish for a summer treat.

    Hendricks is a special treat, being a Scot. Try it with a slice of cucumber.

    Any of the above is fixings for a nice martini. For a really hot day (like, above 70) use the same good, good gin for a refreshing gin & tonic.

  40. MarkHB says:

    My personal and perennial favourite is the Long Island Iced Tea. There are about a squillion variations, but the basic parameters are, with my prefs in parentheses:

    1 part vodka (Russian Standard)
    1 part Tequila (Patrón is good)
    1 part rum (Bacardi 151 works really well)
    1 part gin (Plymouth Navy Strength. YUM!)
    1 part triple sec
    1 1/2 parts sweet and sour mix
    1 splash Coke.

    Apply to highball glass. Assemble with face. Watch the world get a bunch better for a little while. I must confess, I rarely get all my preferred ingredients in one place at one time, but when they’re all there it’s more of a Three-Mile-Island Iced Tea than a Long Island. And there’s nothing wrong with that at all….

    • MarkHB says:

      Also, in passing, to assemble a Martini properly I find this works: Just a splish of vermouth in the shaker half-full of ice, shaken and then poured out. Top the ice up, apply generous dosage of gin or voddy to taste. Shake hard. Serve immediately. This generally applies the Correct and Proper fourteen molecules of vermouth per glass of Martini.

  41. Matt G says:

    I’m mildly proud of this bourbon sour that I re-invented.

    As you know, I’m particular about my margaritas.

    Obviously, I’m a fan of the pre-mixed cocktail that is known as “Beer.”

    On a hot day, it’s hard to beat a gimlet made with a tall glass filled with ice, a single shot of midgrade vodka, the juice of half a lime (or lemon), and filling to the top with club soda, stirring with your Great Aunt Hattie’s fancy glass stirring rod, or your ceremonial dagger.

  42. fastbike says:

    If you liked the White Lady want to try your Gin & Tonic w/ Tanqueray Rangipoor. Simple, easy, very tasty while you fend off the malarias.

    I’m afraid I’m w/ Stretch. We drinks our liquor straight (except for the G&T) or we don’t drinks at all. The Macallan 16 yo single Malt, Jack Daniels Single Barrel.

Comments are closed.