name that spider.

Arachnophobes: do not click past the split.

Interested parties: click past the split and name that spider species.  He hangs out in front of my office window.

Arachnophobes who are reading this through an RSS reader where split posts don’t: sorry for the scare. You can come down from the ceiling now.

Living in the country, we have a lot of spiders around, in, under, and generally all over the property.  Luckily, the really big ones tend to stay outside.  I don’t mind them, since they eat the pesky bugs.  Once you see how many bloodsuckers and buzzy annoyances just one spider of that size catches in its web in just a few days, you’re not so fast to take down nets and kill spiders anymore.

19 thoughts on “name that spider.

  1. Jason Smith says:

    Well, I’d say it’s in the Family Araneidae (Orb Weavers) in the Genus Argiope (Garden Orb Weavers). I wouldn’t venture a guess past that since buggide.net says:

    “For most orb weavers, the ability to classify a specimen to species level often requires a microscopic inspection of the genitalia. A genus level identification is considered a good ID for most of the orb weavers.”

    So…do you have a microscope and boundless curiosity?

    • TimP says:

      You too can have an exciting career in Spider Identification: “A major part of my time is spent staring at spider genitalia under a microscope … Why are you staring at me like that?”

  2. I vote to name it “George”.

  3. Whitebread says:

    I don’t know what it is… but it’s cool!

  4. johnmxl says:

    Looks pretty similar to the photo posted on wikipedia.

  5. alan says:

    I always just called those “garden spiders”.

  6. JBrock says:

    I think Jason nailed it with the first post.

  7. MarkHB says:

    Looks like yer basic garden spider to me.

    Shit, I know that and “outside” is the big room with the high leaky ceiling as far as I’m concerned.

  8. jimbob86 says:

    Orb weaver on one sort or another…. we have one that sets her (judging by the size) net next to the porch light every evening….. I wonder if overeating is as bad for spiders as it is for us….. do spiders become obese, or just keep getting bigger?

  9. john maldaner says:

    Yep, Jason got it right. Very common in KY, too. Harmless to people, but somewhat of a bother if you accidentally walk into their web and they climb onto your hair. Otherwise, no problem.

  10. Jason Smith says:

    I like how, upside down, his abdomen looks like a smiling face. I thought I was reading the Daily Squee RSS feed for a minute.

  11. That’s definitely an orb weaver…it’s a variation of what’s called a “Barn Spider,” and apparently they crawl around quickly enough on your head and face if you run into their webs that folks with heart conditions are advised to be extremely aware of where webs are located, and avoid them if at all possible.

    Ah, wildlife…

  12. Ken says:

    Just don’t name it Boris. It’s been done, and it never ends well.😉

  13. Yesterday morning I came out to my truck to find one of that very spider, sitting on a 14-16″ web he’d built off the truck door and out to the end of the mirror. Impressive, once I returned to orbit.

    A little help from the outdoor broom and he found his way safely to the wall of the house, where he will hopefully assist in the thinning of the critter population.

    tweaker

  14. Firehand says:

    When they were doing the inspection of the house daughter wanted to buy, the bug guy came out from under the house and announced “No sign of termites, but you have spiders.”
    Daughter: “Spiders I don’t mind, but any sign of roaches?”
    “You don’t have roaches, you have SPIDERS!”
    Lots and lots of them. Which, since the only ones that’ve shown up in the house are non-venomous to people types, she doesn’t mind.

  15. Buddy says:

    Fuzzy-legged Orb Weaver.
    I have a non-fuzzy version outside my patio door in the crook of a Crepe Myrtle. It is truly amazing with what they catch on their webs!

  16. John Maldaner says:

    I cannot remember where but I have seen large frames for sale to encourage orb weavers to spin a web. Quite fascinating.

Comments are closed.