if you live in new hampshire, you now can haz switchblade.

I have to admit that I don’t have my finger on the pulse of the NH State House as diligently as I should, which is why I missed the following item of interest:

In May 2010, the NH House and Senate unanimously passed Rep. Jenn Coffey’s Knife Rights Bill, which removes all restrictions on purchase, possession, carry, trade, and legal use of knives in our lovely home state. As a result, any knife is legal to buy, own, and carry in New Hampshire, regardless of blade length, opening mechanism, number of sharpened edges, or any other feature. New Hampshire folk can now legally walk around with switchblades, push daggers, balisongs, gravity knives, or whatever else they choose to stick into their pockets.

To celebrate this common sense defeat of 1950s era public panic legislation, I went through my drawer of knives, pulled out the Benchmade 2550 “Mini Reflex” automatic knife my friend Tamara gave me as a gift a few years ago, and clipped it to the corner of my jeans pocket before leaving the house.

It’s nice to live in a state where the legislators don’t just give lip service to freedom and personal responsibility. (This was passed unanimously, by the way, in a Democrat-controlled House and Senate, and signed by a Democratic governor.)

9 thoughts on “if you live in new hampshire, you now can haz switchblade.

  1. perlhaqr says:

    But please, if you’re going to stick a fixed blade knife into your pocket, stick it in a sheath first. Your tailor will thank you.

  2. Nate says:

    Why can’t we have some Democrats like that in California?

  3. Scotaku says:

    Must… move back…

  4. aczarnowski says:

    Congratulations!

    There are some seriously f’ed up statutes out there, and that’s coming from somebody used to the f’ed up statutes surrounding firearms. If only every state was willing to clear the decks like NH.

  5. abnormalist says:

    That is one law I would love to see in Michigan. While your at it, let me own a removable suppressor for my Ruger MK III 22/45.

    Really for a decidedly blue state, we are a shall issue on concealed pistol licenses, we have a well written castle doctrine, one of the best firearm preemption laws on the books, and are a solid open carry state.

  6. Chang says:

    I’m kinda bummed a gravity knife isn’t something a little more skiffy.

    I’m gonna have to visit my man Craig’s store and get me some knives now.

  7. Any chance those legislators could be bred and exported to other states?

Comments are closed.