autumnal interlude.

I’m working on some edits and a new chapter for That Awesome Paranormal Detective Novel, and watching the leaves fall outside.

Autumn is my favorite season by far. One of the many nice things about New England is the very defined change between seasons. We have a snowy winter, a muddy spring, a mild summer…but the fall is the prime event here, seasonally speaking.

Colorful leaves aside, I love autumn because of the elegiac and slightly melancholic mood of it. My temperament matches this season best, I think. I get something out of walking among all the falling leaves on a brisk and windy autumn day that I don’t feel in any other season. I just love the days when it gets cool enough to finally start a fire, and then sit and have some hot cider while watching all the colors go kablooie outside.

I realize this blog entry reads like some sort of emo journal entry, but that’s how it goes here at the incredibly multifaceted Munchkin Wrangler Prose Factory and Magic Daycare Center. I’m all complex and layered and stuff.

9 thoughts on “autumnal interlude.

  1. Joanna says:

    I realize this blog entry reads like some sort of emo journal entry

    More like Lileks on Percocet.

    Don’t worry, that’s a compliment.

  2. Jay G. says:

    I like fall because it means cover garments…
    😀

  3. Tam says:

    There is no season like fall for getting the nostalgia gland going. The smell of fallen leaves and hints of woodsmoke on a crisp night…

  4. Jeff says:

    I’m a native Rhode Islander and God! do I miss autumn up there. Cool, brisk temperatures, The smell of the ocean on a cold, cloudy day, road side stands with just picked macintosh apples (the best on the planet), The start of the school year (always exciting) with all the new paper and pens, football, world series, the aromas of Thanksgiving dinner cooking in a warm kitchen after coming in from the cold, and the ever changing glories of the foliage. I haven’t lived in New England for almost 40 years but those are the images that remain and that I look forward to.

    Virginia is lovely but autumn in New England is special.

  5. Pumice says:

    When my children were young and I was in the pastoral ministry we used to try to take our vacations during this time of year. The weather was usually great, the crowds were home because their kids were in school and the colors were grand.

    Thanks for the memories.

  6. Layered? Like an onion, or like a parfait?😉

  7. LittleRed1 says:

    As long as you don’t start getting all nuanced, then no worries.

    I prefer autumn. The flying weather is the best of the year, cold fronts clear the dust, the different grasses here on the steppe turn all lovely shades of brown, gold, some reds. Cottonwood trees turn streambeds into rivers of yellow and it’s cool enough to go out without fear of heat prostration at noon. Mornings are crisp and it’s the season of cider, piñon-wood on the fire and the return of all things chili laced, including hot chocolate. It’s a good time to be alive.

  8. Brigie says:

    You have life wrapped up exactly where you want it, with all the colors of the Fall.

    I envy you.

Comments are closed.