gin–it’s like liquid christmas.

On the occasion of my birthday, I shall now share my three current favorite gin-based cocktails with you.

  1. The Martini: The Little Black Dress of the cocktail world.  Two shots of gin, half a shot of dry vermouth.  Olive garnish optional.  (Substitute the olive with a cocktail onion, and it becomes a Gibson.) Shake or stir in ice-filled shaker, serve in pre-chilled cocktail glass.
  2. The Bronx:  A great lunch or afternoon cocktail. Slightly sweet without being cloying.  My favorite ratio for the Bronx is two shots of gin, one shot of orange juice, and half a shot each of sweet and dry vermouth.  (The “standard” IBA version uses less gin, more vermouth, and less OJ, which gives the drink a more bitter note, for those who prefer that sort of thing.)  Shake vigorously in ice-filled cocktail shaker, strain into cocktail glass.
  3. The Foghorn:  More of a warm-weather refreshment akin to the Long Island Iced Tea, without the massive wallop a proper LIIT packs.  Put some ice in a highball glass, pour two shots of gin on top, add the juice from half a lime, and fill up with ginger ale.

Thanks for all the birthday wishes, folks. They are much appreciated.  Now go have one of those cocktails before the day is over, hmm-kay?

13 thoughts on “gin–it’s like liquid christmas.

  1. Robert says:

    I’ve always been more of a Rum guy than anything, but it irks me to no end when I ask for a martini and the bartender asks what kind of vodka I want. Then again, I also order my martinis dirtier than Britteny Spears.

    The Foghorn, however, sounds quite appealing, and I’m going to have to try that out next time I get a bottle of gin.

  2. Mike Dodson says:

    The Preferred Martini: Five shots of gin, one shot of dry vermouth, shake with ice, strain, add a green olive, serve in a chilled Martini glass.

    The Perfect Martini: Place three shots of gin in a cocktail shaker with ice. Shake. Take a chilled Martini glass, uncork a bottle of vermouth in the room; recork the bottle of vermouth. Pour the chilled gin into the chilled Martini glass, add a green olive. Cheers.

  3. Timmay says:

    The M.A.S.H. Martini:

    Shake three shots of gin with ice. Strain into chilled glass.

    Raise glass in a toast to a picture of the inventor of Vermouth.

    Drink.

  4. scotaku says:

    Well twist my arm. Scenic Cornerlot is settled for the evening, and bolstered by your post, I am halfway through my first martini. The forecast calls for the second to be poured during tonight’s cribbage match. Nobs all the way.

  5. I was already in the middle – make that more toward the end – of a White Russian when I read this, and I doubt I’ll be shifting gears in that department. Thanks for the recipes, though, and Happy Friggin Berfday!!!1! just the same, Marko!

    tweaker

  6. Dan says:

    A martini without vermouth isn’t a martini. It’s a shot of gin in a stupid glass.

  7. aczarnowski says:

    Happy birthday Marko.

    If you ever find yourself with tequilla and creme de cassis, make a “Foghorn” by replacing the gin with 1.5 tequilla and 0.5 cassis. They’re called diablos around our household and are the primary reason we keep ginger ale on hand.

  8. Timmay says:

    Went home and made myself a Bronx last night.

    I thought it was quite tasty. Thanks for the recipes.

  9. Montie says:

    Marko, went home last night and hoisted a double martini in your honor (I like ’em dirty like Robert, and I always cheat by adding an olive AND a cocktail onion).

    I tend to agree with Dan on the vermouth, and have been known to occasionally drink a “fifty-fifty” (one shot each), but only when low on the gin supply.

  10. Marko Kloos says:

    Yes…I agree that a martini needs a bit of vermouth. Without it, it’s just a cocktail glass of chilled gin.

  11. Montie says:

    Not that a cocktail glass of chilled gin is a bad thing! Oh and thanks for the recipes, I will have to find time to try them this week.

  12. Cillian says:

    Just wanted to mention one martini I’ve found to be particularly popular once people try it. 1/4 oz each olive brine and dry vermouth, 2 oz good gin. Lightly stir in a mixing tin with a few large chunks of ice and strain into a chilled cocktail glass.

Comments are closed.