(rare) local crime news.

Last year, a bunch of young local New Hampshire kids broke into the house of a family, hacked a woman to death with a machete, and stabbed (and severely injured) her 11-year-old daughter as she tried to defend her mother.

The first of them has just been convicted to life without parole.

That’s a conundrum for the folks that argue against weapons ownership with the argument that “no property is worth a life”, and who advise the rest of us to “just give them what they want”.  Well, what if all they want is to see what it feels like to kill someone?

10 thoughts on “(rare) local crime news.

  1. Sigivald says:

    My reply is that my property, in any great amount, is damned well worth the life of someone who wants to take it.

    Because taking my property is equivalent to forcing me to work for them – and slavery sure seems to be worth killing over.

    Plus “just give them what they want” is merely training them to continue to take whatever they want.

    Incentives matter.

    • PhillipC says:

      I’ve made the statement before that the property I own is paid for by my work, and therefore my time. Anyone taking my stuff is stealing a piece of my life, and therefore any theft should be repelled with as much violence necessary to stop the theft.

      Sounds like you and I have the same philosophy about our stuff.🙂

  2. That animal should be hung.

  3. T.Stahl says:

    Our host in NYC during our last trip stateside said: “Here in New York the police will arrive in three minutes!”
    Which I answered by asking: “Have you ever waited for three minutes?”

    One would think that a former Captain in the US Army would know how much S can hit the F in just three minutes.

    Three minutes can be awfully long.

  4. Sure would be nice if the press would tell us what the heck “life without parole” means in NH. 20 years? 40 years? 99 years?

    If he got the latter, I’d be more than happy to drop my support for the death penalty in most cases. Doubly so since I’ve heard today of Bobby Ray Dixon’s death from cancer. At least he died a free man.

    As long as we keep pretending that a 30 years sentence is “life”, I’ll support making damn sure those convicted justly of a heinous crime hang before they can be paroled.

  5. DJMoore says:

    “Not worth a human life.”

    My standard response:

    The bad guy set the stakes. He’s the one who decided that your DVD player, jewelery, or wallet, is worth a life. He just assumed it wouldn’t be his.

    And as others have pointed out, what if what he wants is your daughter and an hour or two of bloody, noisy fun?

  6. Jay G. says:

    I truly and honestly hope that this sentencing brings the father and the daughter in this story some small measure of peace. It won’t bring their wife and mother back; it won’t heal her wounds or abate her scars; it won’t salve the conscience of the man who has to live the rest of his life knowing that this happened while he was away.

    And what doubletrouble suggests is a good start, although I’d rather see him drawn and quartered…

  7. Windy Wilson says:

    “Just give them what they want, how is your life that much more important than theirs, anyway? They have mothers and sisters that love them, too.”

    Where’s the bitter sarcasm smiley when you need it?

    This is the evil result that occurs when you apply the rules of a bar fight to a nocturnal home invasion robbery/murder.

  8. Nylarthotep says:

    I’m with DJMoore on this one. The person breaking in is the one defining what risk he is willing to take. I’m responding with full understanding that anything but a lethal response could end with me or mine dead. Personally I can’t take that risk. Better them bleeding on the floor than me and mine.

    These pieces of crap got me into a fight with the parents about lethal defense. I won. Parents now keep a loaded handgun in the bedroom and told my brother if he didn’t like his kids in the house with that to not bother bringing them.

Comments are closed.