three years of castle frostbite.

This week marks the third anniversary of our move to Upper Cryogenica, and our purchase of Castle Frostbite.  Time sure flies when you’re moving to New Hampshire right at the start of snow season without preparation, and then battle a leaky and creaky house for two winters.

Now that we’ve truly settled and acclimatized, I can’t think of a place I’d rather live.  The only things we miss about Knoxville are our friends and their kids, and our low-latency, high-bandwidth DSL.

On that subject—the EVDO worked okay at the house, but not any better than the wireless Intertubes service, and at twice the price.  Fortunately, our service provider must have gotten tired of my near-daily calls, because they installed some more gear on the local tower, and now our connection is 1000% improved.  I still don’t get scorching speeds (the downlink is 60-100 kilobytes/second, and the uplink is about half that), but now the connection is consistent, instead of yo-yoing all over the place.  Almost all of our World of Warcraft issues are now fixed, just in time for the Cataclysm expansion due to hit on December 7th.  If it stays this way, I’ll be content with this setup until that happy day when FairPoint rolls out DSL in this spot.  They put their tantalizing signs up by the side of the road about two miles away (“High-Speed Internet Now Available In This Area!”), so I’m hoping it won’t be too long now. 

Driving past that sign every day, however, is like driving past a billboard for a really awesome steakhouse when you’re on a forced vegetarian diet.  “Look what you can’t have! Doesn’t it look juicy?”

8 thoughts on “three years of castle frostbite.

  1. julie says:

    three years????????????? wow – doesn’t time fly … glad to hear that your inet connection has improved too – squeaky wheels and all that

    • Tam says:

      Wow, has it been that long?

      I guess it has; Quinn was just a wee tot…

      Jeez, that means I’m coming up on three years in Indy.

  2. Ruth says:

    heh, reminds me of my old apartment that I moved out of this summer. They wired the whole city for Verizon Fios. Including my street. Turned it on two blocks WEST of me. Turned it on two blocks EAST of me. My area never did get the Fios turned on. I was so not amused!

  3. ATLien says:

    mark my words: roll a goblin!

  4. MarkHB says:

    Dead happy for you, mate. It really seems like you’ve found Your Spot.

  5. Steve says:

    Glad you decided to stay in our island of sanity amongst the massholes, vermonsters and maineiacs. I know that Fairpoint sign well, and the one at the house for sale up the road that says DSL available here. I think they’re tormenting me, but I digress. I’m a bit surprised at the progress they’re making down this part of the state. They gotten to about 1000 feet of me. Soon, I’ll be surfing the web like it’s 1999.

  6. MarkHB says:

    Three Year Stretch out in the cold, eh bud?😉

  7. JR Shirley says:

    Happy anniversary! Been a while, come to think of it…

    John

Comments are closed.