test pattern here.

I’m trying out the ScribeFire extension for Google Chrome.  For the last few years, I’ve been a happy Firefox user, but today I had this hankering to download Chrome and take it for a spin.

A lot of things are nicer than in Firefox.  The extensions in particular seem better integrated.  ScribeFire for Chrome is a lot less kludgy than ScribeFire for Firefox.  And the big selling point for Chrome may just be that the extensions and bookmarks sync automatically across all my computers. I’ll test-drive it for a week or two, and if it doesn’t burp on me too badly, I may just switch.  

6 thoughts on “test pattern here.

  1. perlhaqr says:

    Do double posts count as “burps”? 😉

  2. Fodder4Thought says:

    For what it’s worth, I hear that Chrome is the least secure of the major browsers.

  3. wolfwalker says:

    Whatever its apparent advantages, Chrome has one irredeemable flaw: it’s from Google.

  4. Sendarius says:

    AS the versions have gone by, Firefox has become bloated and slower.

    It is still faster than IE, but I recently fired up an old desktop with FF 2, and the browser was noticeably faster to start than my current machine with FF 3.6.12, AND I’ve been plagued with random pauses while using FF 3.6.12.

    Chrome was never a candidate as a replacement, is Safari any better?

  5. NYEMT says:

    I use both, depending mostly on my mood. I like the appearance of Chrome better; I don’t play around with extensions much. It feels more “finished” than Firefox to me. Video is slower using Chrome, at least for my connection and installation. Firefox seems to buffer and play it faster for whatever reason. My little brother (who’s much more savvy about these things than me) made the same comment about security regarding Google Chrome.

  6. Jake says:

    I seem to have the exact opposite recollection of Firefox – 2.0 was slow from launch, while 3.6 gives you several hundred simultaneous tabs and a couple weeks of operation before starting to seize up.

Comments are closed.