paging dr. scattergun.

I have a question for the scattergun experts among you.

I have this lovely little Remington Model 11 the local Merchant of Death let me have for a handful of East German coins and a mostly full box of Mike & Ike candies.  I checked the proper adjustment of the friction rings on the recoil system, and the gun cycles fine.  However, if you fill up the magazine tube with the maximum of four rounds, it drops the next shell out of the magazine on the ground upon firing the first round.  (It will then cycle the rest fine without dropping anything.)  If you load only three in the tube, it doesn’t drop a shell.

This happens regardless of whether you preload the chamber by hand and go 4+1, or just fill up the magazine tube and rack the bolt to load the first one from the tube.

Any thoughts?

 

14 thoughts on “paging dr. scattergun.

  1. Matt G says:

    Time for a new spring? (And, yes, I know that usually the issue on springs is when they are LESS loaded, but the set could have taken while the gun was fully loaded. Springs don’t usually flex perfectly evenly along their length.)

  2. Mr. Chubbins says:

    Not an expert on this, but sounds like whatever mechanism is retaining the shells in the tube is overcome by the force when you have 4 shells in the tube. Typically this mechanism is a finger or latch that is either powered by a spring, or the latch is mounted so it acts like a spring. Another option would be that the catch is broken, nicked, deformed or worn out. Take a look at the face of the catch, and look for breakage. Then look at how much it protrudes and how strong it is.

    Mr. CHubbins.

  3. Matt G says:

    Dang it, that’s an action spring, not a magazine spring. I refuse to believe that a magazine spring from any tubular magazine from any Remington (or probably any other brand) 4-shot magazine shotgun would not work in your M11.

  4. aczarnowski says:

    I’ve never had this problem with my Auto 5s, but I’d get a new tube spring for a used gun as a matter of course anyway.

    After that…. professional. The internals on that Browning design is not the place for amateurs.

  5. Buffboy says:

    I don’t think it’s the tube spring. It’s been a decade since I’ve had one apart so I might be a little fuzzy here. IIRC the magazine feed mechanism is very similar to the 870 and there are flat springs inletted on each side of the receiver(2 total). They work in stages, so your magazine doesn’t dump all the rounds at each cycling or double feed. One of those springs is likely gotten the stop that catches the rim of the case a little rounded so it lets the round past on cycling with the magazine full. Recrimp some empties, cycle the action with them, you should be able to figure out how it works and tweak(go light here) or dress the catch(s) to solve the problem.

  6. Tam says:

    Check your email.

  7. ASM826 says:

    When you insert the last round in the magazine, is it getting fully inserted? 2 3/4″ shells vary, some are a bit long. If you are not able to get the last round fully in, it may catch partially, but dislodge due to recoil. This would explain better than some other possibilities why it works fine with 4 and not 5.

    Measuring shells and buying a box that comes up a little short would be one way to test this theory, trimming down the magazine follower would be another. You should be able to push the last round into the magazine so that your thumb follows it in, just as it could on the previous rounds, then have it move back out against the catch.

    When you figure this out for sure, please post the outcome.

  8. Jay G. says:

    [goes for the obvious]

    Um, only load three shells? Hello???

    What the others said. Try a new spring; if that doesn’t fix the issue, enlist the aid of a gunsmith.

  9. libertyman says:

    I don’t think it is the spring. It is likely something sticking. Clean the mechanism thoroughly. Springs don’t “take a set” or go bad just sitting there.

    • Windy Wilson says:

      I vote to change any spring you can find.
      We had a related discussion over at theguncounter.com.
      Apparently springs only “take a set” if they are improperly made or made of improper materials for the application. Curiously, or perhaps not, the only way to find out if your springs are bad is if they “take a set”.

  10. abnormalist says:

    Sorry, cant help on the actual issue here. What I can say though is good find. The old Model 11s are great guns that are worth well more than what you can pick them up for.

    I have the rifle version the old Remington Model 8 in 30 Remington. One of my favorite rifles even though I have to roll all my own ammo for her.

  11. libertyman says:

    Marko — why don’t I bring my Model 11 up and we can compare the two?

  12. john b says:

    my Western Field copy did that once and once only. I never did find out why. It’s nasty and I had to use a Turtle Wax formulation to kill the rust, but it shoots a treat! This is the Blaster I’ll show off if I ever get to tell some young man about JayG’s three rules re: dating his daughter!

Comments are closed.