personal grooming II: the beardination.

Boy, the webcam on the little Asus Eee is really nothing to write home about.

Here’s a shot from two weeks ago–mop-like hair and usual three-to-five-day scruffiness, about to unlock the Caffeination achievement:

And here’s this morning, hair short again, and with the most facial hair I’ve ever sported:

I’ve never had the patience to let the beard grow past the “ZOMG I can’t take the itchy anymore!” stage, so this is a new experience.  Not sure if I’m going to keep it, though…there’s a disturbing amount of grey in that beard.

22 thoughts on “personal grooming II: the beardination.

  1. Jeff says:

    Marko,

    Give it a try for a while longer. I’ve had a full beard since 1972. (I assume I still have a chin underneath. Haven’t seen it lately.) Beats the hell out of that twice a day self sacrifice I used to go through. Now a few swipes on the cheeks in the morning and a once a month trim takes care of matters. It started out dark but is now 99% white. I don’t mind the color change.

    It does look good on you.

  2. Sigivald says:

    You know, I’ve never had one.

    How much do the McCafes suck?

    Obviously not so badly that they’re undrinkable, on the evidence, but… comparisons?

  3. Why not go for the full-beard look? Since you live in Upper Cryogenica, a self-grown face-warmer might be a nice thing to have.

    Goatees make guys look a little too much like Ming the Merciless for my taste.

  4. Matthew Carberry says:

    It’s not grey, it’s “very light blond”. =)

  5. T.Stahl says:

    That first picture looks so Eighties!
    The second looks like…I don’t what it looks like.

  6. Sendarius says:

    Is that a Caleb-approved self-defence coffee?

  7. Al Terego says:

    First guy looks like a writer.

    Second guy looks like a Russian thug.

    Just sayin’…

    AT

  8. Jay G. says:

    It looks good on you, although I do have to agree with AT about the Russian thug part. You wouldn’t happen to have a PPSH, wouldja?😉

  9. Marko Kloos says:

    Hey….what if that’s the look I was aiming for?

    • Will says:

      When the beard hair is longer than the scalp hair, it looks odd to me.

      I suspect there is some sort of “rule of thumb” regarding the subject, although I can’t recall seeing it stated. Might be modified by the shape and area involved, to further complicate matters. Know any hairdressers/stylists for input?

  10. Fred2 says:

    Certainly look like yer from New Hamster…

  11. Marko Kloos says:

    I will now insist on being called Yefim, and adopt a pseudo-Russian accent.

  12. Stingray says:

    By strange coincidence, I too am on the eschew-the-razor train for the time being. You have my sympathy on the itching front. There are officially three weeks remaining on my experiment before the decision between “oh god get it off my face” and “maybe this wasn’t such a bad idea after all.”

    And I have no idea where the freakin’ hell all that grey came from here, either.

  13. T.Stahl says:

    Jürgen von der Lippe! That’s who you remind me of.
    You might need a Hawaii shirt, though.

  14. NYEMT says:

    Did the beard thing back in the early ’90s… it didn’t take. I’ve reverted to a proper handlebar mustache as befits a firefighter.

    No, that’s not me – but as he says: “A man without a mustache..is he really a man?” 🙂

  15. Rob S. Pierre says:

    Mirror universe you?

  16. Justthisguy says:

    You look dangerously manly in the second pic. Keep that appearance.

  17. Justthisguy says:

    P.s. I shaved off my beard back in the eighties when it went all white on me, and I had not even turned forty. I kept the moustache which was still brown. The moustache is white now, but I intend to keep it. Curiously, the hair on the top of my head is still mostly brunette, and I’ll be 60 soon.

  18. Will says:

    Quite often, the head has three separate zones of hair. The differences can be color and/or curly-ness. And all of them can turn gray or white on different schedules.

    BTW, check the itchy spots for ingrown hairs.

Comments are closed.