way to throw yourself out of the limo.

Yesterday at lunchtime, married father-of-one Chris Lee was a member of Congress, a U.S. Representative from New York.  Today, he’s not a Congressperson anymore, and well on his way to achieving the status he had claimed in an amorous email to some random Craigslist L4M: divorced lobbyist.

(Like someone on Twitter pointed out yesterday, at least he was looking for a woman, which is a refreshing change for Republican sex scandals.)

While I can’t suppress a little Nelson Muntz-like “Ha Ha” (especially considering former Rep. Lee is a Republican, the party of morals, marriage defense, and the regulation of other people’s bedroom habits), I have to point out that this was not an issue of Republican or Democrat failings, but one of Horny Male Who Thinks He Can Get Away With It, and those come both in liberal and conservative flavors.  I will, however, note the following:

If you’re in a high-profile public job like, say, Member of Congress, and you use your real name while trolling Craigslist for some extra-marital action, you are dumber than a tub of mushrooms, and I wouldn’t trust you to run my checkbook, much less the affairs of the nation.

20 thoughts on “way to throw yourself out of the limo.

  1. Bryan Jones says:

    That’s an insult to mushrooms everywhere.

  2. libertyman says:

    Let’s see, he breaks his promise to his wife, his family, his constituents and probably his friends too — for what? What a jerk. Glad he was exposed as the liar he is.

  3. My take on it is that these scandals always turn out to be icebergs: the main way people get cavalier about thinking they won’t get caught… is by not having gotten caught so far. I bet there’s a lot more that could come out, and he’s hoping that by resigning, it won’t.

  4. No One says:

    No one EVER accused congressmen of being smart…

  5. JimmyT says:

    You know this would have been a non-issue if he had simply changed his party affilation to Democrat!!

    BT: Jimmy T sends.

  6. perlhaqr says:

    If there was a way to weaponize that kind of stupid…

    • Gerry N. says:

      “If there was a way to weaponize that kind of stupid…”

      There is. It’s name is “Progressive”.

  7. MarkHB says:

    Always startles me how we go from “This was stupid” to party politics in a single-digit number of posts. Still, as long as the wrong lizard doesn’t get in, I suppose….

  8. LittleRed1 says:

    A number of years ago, my parents explained that if a politician got caught with his pants down, it was a usually a Democrat. If he got caught with his hand in the till, it was probably a Republican. Looks as if at these two flavors of stupidity have become bipartisan.

  9. Owen says:

    I swear i’m going to restart my political party. “The Right Lizard Party.” I think the time is right.

  10. Jay G. says:

    Heh. I think it’s a sign of my fitness geekery that my only thoughts on this whole story were “Damn, he’s in good shape for a guy his age” after seeing the cell phone pic…

  11. Dumber than a tub of mushrooms? I don’t know how you drummed that up, but it is so stolen.

    tweaker

  12. MoogieP says:

    Last paragraph = the best nutshell I’ve encountered in ages, Mr. Profeshunal.

  13. Tam says:

    I guess it’s now a sign of being officially old if you remember the days when Democrats got caught in other people’s pants and Republicans got caught in other people’s pockets…

Comments are closed.