put together in new hampshah.

Last weekend, we were supposed to travel down to Manchester for a birthday party, but our friends cancelled on account of two out of their three daughters running high fevers.  I had already crossed Boskone off my list of events this year because of the party, and I didn’t want to rush down to Boston on short notice, so I just ended up staying home and having a quiet weekend with the family.

As a consolation prize, I got to dash into West Lebanon on Saturday morning for the annual Fun Show.  It was really hot, really crowded, and really devoid of great deals–not that I was in a position to take advantage of any.  I did, however, turn the Ruger LCP into some walking-around cash, which in turn put the toy budget above the critical mass needed to pick up this at my local gun shop:

That’s a SIG Sauer P229 in 9mm.  I had been on the lookout for one in that caliber for a while, and when my local shop had one on the shelf for a very reasonable tariff, I had to take a shot at it.  It’s date coded 2003, and has so little wear on it that it’s pretty much a new gun.

They’re good to me over at Hollow Point Sports.  When I expressed interest, they pulled the P229 off the shelf and held it for me, without so much as a layaway payment, until I had enough pennies rolled to pick it up.  Dillon and Sam at HPS are awesome guys who run a well-stocked and clean shop.  If you’re ever in the Enfield area and find yourself in need of gun-related stuff, stop by and check them out.  (HPS is right on Route 4 in Enfield, on the right side of the road if you’re heading toward Canaan.  They’re across the street from a fairly big PetroMart gas station.)

Why did I get rid of the Ruger?  Well, I wanted that SIG more than the LCP, the Ruger was expendable, and I had carried it less and less lately because even with the pocket holster, it tends to wear out the pockets of my jeans to leave a tell-tale gun shape.  Also, sometimes you just need to jump on an opportunity as it presents itself, and the LCP is utterly replaceable.

My last SIG was a P220 I sold just before we moved from Tennessee to New Hampshire.  I had almost forgotten just how nice they are, and how well they shoot.  I’ve been mostly carrying a 3″ K-frame for nigh on seven years now, and I’m pretty good with that gun, but there’s nothing I shoot as well as a SIG Sauer with those Von Stavenhagen pattern bar-dot sights.  The first time I took that P229 out for a quick 50-round spin, it was absolutely no challenge to hit a soda can offhand at 25 yards with every shot.  Back in Knoxville, I owned a P229 in .357SIG once, and that one was a great shooter as well, but the 9mm version has a much softer recoil, and the follow-up shots and double-taps are noticeably faster.

I’m still a revolver guy, and nothing is going to dislodge that 3″ K-frame Smith from the carry gun slot, but that P229 is so nice it only reinforces my opinion that the classic P-series SIG Sauer pistols are just about as good as it gets in an out-of-the-box factory pistol.

(Ammo is Federal “9BPLE” 9mm +P+.  Holster is iTac retention paddle holster.)

24 thoughts on “put together in new hampshah.

  1. whamprod says:

    Nice gun. I wish they were ambidextrous. I’m a lefty, and that complicates matters when I look at semiautos for carry.

  2. Dan says:

    You had a P220 and SOLD it?😮

    • Marko Kloos says:

      I have owned plenty of SIGs, and traded them along the way for silly reasons. I’ve owned a P220ST, a P220, a P225, a P226, a P228, a P229 (in .357SIG), a P232, a P232SL, three P239s (one in .40 and two in 9mm), a SIGpro SP2022, and probably one or two I’m forgetting right now.

  3. caillean says:

    ❤ Sigs. Love my P220, want a P226 or P229, but haven't decided on caliber, yet. Waffling between .40S&W and 9mm.

    Sadly, not able to carry my P220 yet, haven't mastered the recoil/kick of .45acp yet. More practice and I'll eventually get it, I'm sure.

  4. Rob Reed says:

    Have you tried a Sig 239? I recently replaced my S&W Model 65 with a 3″ barrel with my Sig 239 in 9mm. I had an Alessi Talon holster for the Smith, and it worked well, and decided to try the same holster for the Sig. It works even better,(more comfortable and more concealable) so I made the switch.

    The S&W is now my “spare” carry gun, in case the Sig is out of service for any reason. I still trust the S&W, but just decided I’d rather have 9 rounds of 9mm instead of 6 rounds of .38 Special, for the same size and bulk.

  5. Glamdring says:

    I am happy you upgraded on caliber🙂

    Still admire your K frame + SMLE setup.

    I just wish you would carry pair of kframes or K frame plus snubby Colt D frame BUG.

    Did you get the 12 gauge working correctly?

    • Marko Kloos says:

      Haven’t shipped the Remmy to a gunsmith yet. It works fine as long as you don’t fill the mag tube all the way, so I just use it with three shells right now.

      It’s a bird gun with a long barrel anyway, and it’s not like it’ll need to stand in as a home defense shotgun. Come to think of it, I may even put in the magazine tube plug so I can legally use it for birds.

  6. Peter says:

    I miss all the SIGs I let go. A P226 was my first or second gun ever. For a DA, there is no better in my hands…natural fit, aim and they all made me look like a much better shot than I am. While I eventually gravitated to SA, there is one SIG I still “miss” so much it hurts.

    In 2000 I was at a gun show in Phoenix and ran across a SIG I’d never heard of and knew nothing about…some model marked P210, with Danish (?) military markings on it. The guy wanted $900 and, while it looked to be in great shape, I didn’t know if that model was worth it.

    Whoops.

  7. BryanP says:

    I’ve only owned one SIG, a West German era P220. I sometimes regret selling it, but I honestly didn’t shoot it all that well, I didn’t carry it, and I didn’t even take it to the range that often. I finally decided it should go to someone who would use it rather than sit in my safe.

    I wouldn’t mind trying a P229 or a P239 in 9mm sometime just to see if I shoot them any better.

  8. I don’t own a Sig, but have fired three of them. Two belonged to close friends (a .40SW and a 9mm) and another was a stranger at the gun range who let me shoot his .357SIG. I don’t know what it is about them, but they way they fit my hand is unmistakeable. Congrats on the upgrade!

  9. Terence says:

    Wow, you shoot the Sig better than the Steyr M9? Cause as I recall, it sounded like an SMG at the bloggershoot a few years ago….

  10. Jay G. says:

    Well, that *might* have been an SMG…

    Nice pickup Marko. I’ll be sowing mine on Friday…

  11. I’m still a revolver guy, and nothing is going to dislodge that 3″ K-frame Smith from the carry gun slot…

    You know, I was just recently reading about the virtues of a 3″ Model 10 for concealed carry. Here in Jersey, I don’t see a lot of old guns for comparison: do you have an opinion on how similar the short Model 10 is to a Colt Detective Special? I understand both are larger than a snubbie J-frame, but are still small enough to be carry-friendly.

    • Marko Kloos says:

      The Dick Special is very slightly smaller than the K-frame, and will fit into some J-frame holsters. My hand is very used to the K-frame and the push-to-release cylinder latch of the S&W, but I’ve also owned a Detective Special before, and I wouldn’t feel any less well armed with one of those.

      • Thanks for the input. Much obliged.

        • Tam says:

          Back in the day, when a 3″ or 4″ K-frame was still the hot ticket for a carry piece, the Super-Duper Tacticool thing to do was to use a Colt Dick Special for your backup gun, because it could eat out of the same speedloaders as your main heater.

  12. libertyman says:

    I am looking at a P250, what do you think? — ja oder nein?

  13. DirtCrashr says:

    My ’43 1911A1 is a bit of a History Queen, companion to the M1 Garand, even though I shoot it, so it seems I have tended towards Sigs as the go-to handkanonen – and now I have two P220’s. One is a beautiful 1989 wollüstige lady, and the newest a racy 2004 ST nitron hootchie-mädel. At least I think it’s ’04…

  14. Tam wrote:

    …the Super-Duper Tacticool thing to do was to use a Colt Dick Special for your backup gun, because it could eat out of the same speedloaders as your main heater.

    Ah, good to know. It’s a subtle advantage, but an advantage nonetheless, given that my household already has an old M&P. It’s good to teach the kids to share, after all.

Comments are closed.