seven years of living among the injuns.

This year will mark the seventh anniversary of my naturalization at the federal courthouse in Chattanooga. I still get this little rush every time I have an occasion to affirm my nationality–checking off “United States of America” for citizenship on a 4473, for example, or acknowledging verbally that I am an American citizen.

I did it for the first time the day I got back from the courthouse with my naturalization certificate in hand, and went straight to the town clerk’s office to register to vote and apply for a passport. So far, it hasn’t lost its thrill.

I’m not a dual citizen, by the way. According to Germany’s new citizenship rules, you have to file a formal application to keep your German citizenship when you acquire a foreign one. I didn’t have the necessary inheritance or business interests in Germany, and I didn’t want to waste the non-refundable 200-some Euro fee, so I never bothered filing the application. I still have a German passport in a drawer somewhere, but legally speaking, it’s no longer valid. If I want to visit the country of my birth for more than three months, I have to get a visa, which is kind of a weird feeling.

(The post title isn’t actually accurate–I’ve been living among the Injuns for fifteen years now. I learned their tongue, and showed great prowess in the buffalo hunt, so they made me a full member of the tribe seven years ago.)

19 thoughts on “seven years of living among the injuns.

  1. Hey, someone changed the decor around here! Nice!

    Oh, and welcome to America again!

  2. GD says:

    And we shall call you, “Dances with Munchkins”.

  3. perlhaqr says:

    *fistbump*

    Glad to have you.

    Can we, uh, make it an exchange program? I can think of some people I know that I wouldn’t mind inflicting on Europe. 🙂

  4. Paul B says:

    Welcome, white man. May you do better to us than your predessors ( other white men ).

  5. TBeck says:

    Have the wogs made you their king yet?

  6. alan says:

    Happy Anniversary, Marko.

  7. eli says:

    Wilkommen, Herr Wrangler! Eine Weile bleiben.

  8. joated says:

    Germany’s loss is our gain.

  9. Welcome! Glad to have you here!

  10. libertyman says:

    I am proud of you! And delighted you are here and an American. Let’s plan to celebrate soon.

  11. MaddMedic says:

    Congrats dude.

  12. Rob Reed says:

    Glad to have you here. How hard was the immigration process, btw? I know some people with horror stories and I have a friend who is a immigration lawyer who has even worse stories from clients.

  13. Lightnin' says:

    My wife never naturalized. So at 21, our son became a dual citizen and travels in Europe as a German. Handy in these times.

  14. Chris says:

    My wife never naturalized. So at 21 our son was granted dual citizenship. In Europe he uses his German passport. Safer in these times.

  15. Ancient Woodsman says:

    My ancestors settled in the Exeter area around 1664 (at least according to the deed) and as late as 1720 one was killed by natives near what is now Route 111 at about the Exeter/Kingston town line, so you may have a few decades to go before you should really get comfortable with those Indians.

    The rest of us welcome you with open arms. Your presence here in the Granite State has raised our collective classiness by noticeable points.

    Congratulations on your milestone!

  16. Happy Anniversary, Marko!
    Congratulations on choosing to be a citizen of the best country in the world.🙂

  17. Tennessee Budd says:

    You’re a welcome addition to the tribe.

  18. Evil One says:

    As previously said, welcome.
    Good to have good people coming in.

    Jim

Comments are closed.