the million-dollar garage.

This article about high-end luxury car picks for lottery winners reminded me that my Taxachusetts-based friend Jay often has Top 10 lists featuring cars on his blog.  Because I want to be just like the Kool Kidz, I figured I could take that baton and stumble off with it, too.

So, you just won a cool $300 million in the Multi-State SuperMegaBux.  You build a swank new mansion for the family, with a big-ass garage.  Your challenge is to pick five brand new current-production automobiles to fill that new garage of yours.

Here’s my list:


1.) Porsche 911 Turbo–because that’s my “Fuck You Money” dream car, and has been for a long time.  The current series of the 911 (997) packs a twin-turbo flat-six 3.8l at 493HP in the Turbo S version.  I’ll take the all-wheel drive Turbo S, because it’s a beast, and because, hey, New Hampshire.  (Not that I’d have much of a prayer with a 911 on our dirt road or in the snow.)

2.) Ferrari 458 Italia–because every luxury car collection needs to include a Ferrari.  The 458 sports a mid-mounted 4.5l V8 with 560HP output.  I would need to order it with an extra-large glove box to accomodate all the speeding tickets I’m likely to collect with a Ferrari, which looks like it’s going eighty above just standing parked at the curb.

3.) Aston Martin DBS V12–because it’s British and has twelve flippin’ cylinders.  Also: James Bond.  The V12 in the DBS has a displacement of six liters, and puts out 510HP.  Plus, it’s a sexy beast of a car.

4.) BMW 760i–because I’m a big fan of the Bavarian Motor Works with a history of satisfied previous ownership (a 323i and a 325i), and because the stable needs at least one large, comfortable car for extended trips.  I’d pick the top 7-series engine just because. You can’t argue with a six-liter twin turbo cranking out 537HP.

5.) Cadillac CTS-V.  Because it’s a station wagon with a Corvette mill–a 6.2l, 556HP V8.  Because my brother lectures me about American gas-guzzling excess on occasion, and I would gladly part with the sixty-five grand for that car just to pick him up at the airport in a 556-horsepower station wagon with an engine that would cost me a five-figure amount in annual vehicle taxes over in Germany.  (They’re taxed by engine displacement over there, which is why a 2.0l four-banger is considered a pretty big engine.)  Seriously–read the article, and tell me that wouldn’t be an awesome kid mover, a spunky parenting duty successor to the Grand Marnier.

Those are my picks.  What are yours?  Feel free to leave your choices in the Comments, or swipe the whole thing for your own blog entry.

(BMW 7-series pic courtesy of Rudolf Stricker. Ferrari 458 Italia pic courtesy of Anthony Joh. All other images are public domain.)

17 thoughts on “the million-dollar garage.

  1. bluntobject says:

    +1 on the CTS-V wagon.

    For myself, let’s see… start with a Mitsubishi Lancer Evo sportwagon as a daily driver. Next, I’ll take a Sport Racer Enterprise and something like an F350 to haul it around the continent. That five-car garage looks better with a chassis rotisserie and a two-post lift in it, and I can spend the extra money on tires, race gas, and track time.

    But I’m weird that way.

    • bluntobject says:

      Turns out that Mitsubishi doesn’t make a five-door Lancer in Evo trim. So much for that — it’ll have to be a Subaru WRX STI five-door instead.

  2. I need a Ford GT40, but I’ll never get it down this road.
    That’s the only car I want- these rest would be various kinds of snow removal equipment…

  3. Samuel Weaver says:

    +1 on the Porsche & Ferrari but then I’d pick a Corvette convertible a Lamborghini Aventador and a Chevrolet Z71.

  4. Al Terego says:

    Initially I thought that first pic *was* your list…I mean I like Ferdie’s finest, but as the rest of your list shows, there is some awesome transportation out there.

    I especially like the Caddy; they are making some truly badass machines. But it makes me sick to my heart to know that I would (and do) buy Krautmobiles with no compunctions but could not bring myself to support Big O Motors. Maybe again one day.

    Anyway, my list is a bit different. Since I rarely pay the stupid tax at the Circle K I am unlikely to hit the big one. And I’m even less likely to invent some innanely but insanely popular and profitable way to communicate by not you know, actually communicating. So being now in the latter stages of my sixth decade, I probably will never have the pissable dough to buy the 100K-plus stuff. But I do like to buy cars, so I content myself somewhat with the bottom-of-the-line of premium brands; cars that sell for under 40K, about the price of an average SUV or Buick, but a hell of a lot more fun. And that makes it affordable to trade every two or three years. So my last five cars (actually my wife’s cars, as I always have a truck or Jeep for work), as opposed to my five dream cars, have been:

    In ’98 we had been through several Camrys and Accords, our business was doing well, and we’d always wanted a Mercedes, so we bought a little C230. This was the last year of the non-turbo gas four banger, and that little car had about as much hustle as you would expect. It was however, an absolute rock…everything about it was solid and it looked and felt – and was – quality.

    Went Jap again for the new millenium with a peanut-shaped Lexus SUV that was the forerunner of today’s “crossover”, the RX300. We were back and forth from Fla to the North Georgia mountain cabin a lot then, and with AWD this thing could carry a ton of stuff and the whole family up and down those gravel and mud roads with ease. And while perhaps uninspiring, it was flawless; never had to return to the dealer with a problem in the two-and-a-half years we owned it.

    In August of ’02 wifey came across a magazine ad that stopped her cold. Always pretty conservative in her tastes as all of the above vehicles illustrate, she had never cared for red or flashy cars, until now. Couple days later I met up with her at the Sarasota Audi dealership to take delivery of her new ’03 A4 Quattro…lipstick red with cream leather, drop-dead beautiful, and an absolute blast to drive hard through flat corners with all wheels driving, we both loved that car.

    Then ’05 came around, and BMW was running an amazing promotion on the little 325i. It was the last year for the body style (being replaced in ’06 with the Hyundai-esque version still being produced), and they were blowing out the old model; you could lease one for 36 months for $2K down and $299 a month; shit, that’s the payment on a 15K car, not 35K. I had never leased before, but we leased two of these; one for the wife and one for my son. Again, these are base model cars by Beemer standards, but still wonderfully equipped and make no mistake, they are driver’s cars; turn off the TC and drift the rear through a corner with confidence and control. But that wasn’t the best thing about the BMWs…the service plan and dealerships were. This was my first experience with synthetic oil from the factory, and it’s a little unnerving to not worry about oil changes for 15,000 frickin’ miles, but that’s the deal and everything is covered. The dealership in Alpharetta, GA is without a doubt the most wonderful service experience of my life. A beautiful facility, and a pleasant and knowledgable greeter/service writer brings you coffee, accesses your car on the computer, and five minutes later there’s a loaner waiting (we were given at different times a 535, an X3 and an X5). When we were called to pick up our car, we gave them a time and it was ready and waiting, with scheduled work plus anything else they found (for us, wiper blades, brake pads, and light bulbs were replaced when we weren’t even aware they were needed), plus a nice wash and vac job. And of course you get to mill about the showroom rubbing elbows with folks who can actually afford that amazing black-with-red-leather 6-series coupe. A truly great vehicle experience.

    The Beemer leases ended 12/07 and we kind of inadvertently ended up with the car we have now; I wrote a bit about it at Tam’s recently when she was reskinning her Z3. Wifey liked her 325i but she still pined for that Audi…I called around and found a Quattro (the 2wd version is fwd plus it has a CVT tranny that I just don’t like; I wanna feel the gears) in her color (she wanted black this time), so we headed to Tampa. Halfway there in Lakeland, we stopped at VW just to be sure we didn’t want to go downscale a bit with a Jetta; she was sure as soon as she laid eyes on them. And this car would be her 37th anniversary gift (yeah, married in our teens), and us being semi-retired by this time, we planned to keep this car longer, so she had to be happy. We got ready to head out for Audi, and then she saw it…the new design of the entry level Benz, the C300 Sport. Black. Black leather. And a little AMG package for wannabes like us that is mostly a body kit, but also beefs up the suspension, adds some hp, a nice set of alloys and low profile Michelins, and the obligatory star on the grill. And it’s $36K, same as the little Audi. This was a far cry from the little 4-cylinder C230 of ten years prior…we took it for a test run on the nearby windy road that encircles a lake, and the thing actually handled and had decent power. In fact as I noted at Tam’s, the hp/wt ratio is almost identical to her first-gen Z3…it’s no roadster, but it’s fun to drive with your foot and still has room for the grandbabies, their accoutrement, and pulls down the high twenties in mpg. We’re now 39 months into this car, the longest we’ve kept one in a long time. She still loves it, and It’s never had a problem, but Mercedes doesn’t have Beemer-style service…it’s okay, but it ain’t free (think $200 for essentially an oil change), plus the bumper-to-bumper warranty expires soon at 50K miles – an unfamiliar and mildly worrisome situation for me – so I’m not sure if we’ll keep it or trade it. Right now it looks and drives and feels as good as it did on that lake circuit, and even I have no real urge to dump it…although that might change the first time I get hit with a serious maintenance/repair bill.

    So there you have it; not a dream list by any means, but we’ve enjoyed all of these cars, largely because we actually got to own and drive them them as opposed to salivating over glossy ads and blowing the grocery money on the numbers…and without breaking or even putting a serious dent in the budget. YMMV.

    AT

  5. paul says:

    Definite yes on the Porsche, followed by a Corvette ZR1, a big 4×4 American pick up with a turbo diesel and a Merc S65 AMG to take the kids to school in. My fifth choice is to keep my ’09 Pontiac G8 GT, but take it up the road to Modern Muscle, toss a suitcase full of $$$ at them and say “make it fast, make it VERY FAST”

  6. Matt G says:

    A friend of mine has the Aston Martin. His wife commented, “It has a 250 watt stereo, but who wants to hear that, when you can hear this sexy beast of an engine growl?”

    0-60 in 4.3 seconds. That’s like the acceleration of a motorbike.

  7. Jay G. says:

    What an awesome idea! I think I’ll steal borrow it for Friday, actually, seeing as how I haven’t done a Top Ten list in AGES

  8. perlhaqr says:

    Meh. There isn’t much these days that really has me in a “to die for” mood. If I won the lottery, I’d buy something in the “sport-luxury appliance” class of automobiles, very likely German in origin, and spend the rest of it building my own crazy things.

    VW 2.0 TDI powered Lotus Elise. Why? Because it would be awesome. Triple black restomod 1971 Plymouth GTX. A reasonable facsimile of the 1924 H6b Hispano Suiza Tulipwood Torpedo. Ditto for a 1938 Alfa Romeo 8A. Though, I would be very likely to put somewhat more modern powerplants into both of those. And with as much money as I’d have at that point, I might well build a custom foundry for that sort of thing. Imagine a modern day, all aluminum block, lysholm supercharged, multi port fuel injected straight 8. Or a similarly appointed flat 12. Or a V-12 variant of the 426 hemi…

    Too much imagination, not enough money…

    • perlhaqr says:

      Of course, taking that 911 Turbo and kitting it out in 959 Dakar spec… That could be cool. 🙂

  9. Dr. Feelgood says:

    The Aston Martin, oh yes. That is the epitome of beauty. My only other must-have is a McLaren MP4-12C.

    My BMW would be the X5 diesel with third row.

  10. ASM826 says:

    I want that Caddy. Worse, I want to get it and do body work. Round off all the sharp lines and give it a more retro body style and a custom paint job. The other possibility would be putting that engine and drive train in a 1971 Oldsmobile Vista Cruiser. That would be the ride to take the kids to the beach in.

  11. Richard says:

    Morgan Aero 8. Not sure I’d get around to driving anything else but maybe the Plus 4 from Morgan as well? Add in an F150 and a VW TDI Wagon or a Subaru Wagon and I’d be set.

  12. […] at the Munchkin Wrangler the question of what five cars would you own if money was no […]

  13. Siddhartha says:

    I especially love the Aston, probably one of the most beautiful cars in the world. Next for looks and class and SPEED its the Bugatti Veyron and just to be a loud prick the Zhonda. Everyday driver has to be a Benz because I have had the same 300D for 15 years now and it has almost a half million miles on it and I still drive it from Oregon to Northern BC and Alberta regularly.

  14. Kristopher says:

    The same beat up diesel Suburban I’m driving now.

    It’s working on it’s fifth trip around the odometer, and is still getting 20 MPG on the freeway. And it will crush any Posrche that gets in its way.

  15. Kim du Toit says:

    Wouldn’t need to spend a million. Just over a half would do.

    Bentley Continetal GT Speed ($275K) – speed AND comfort

    Audi Q7 ($70K) – to carry the guns ‘n stuff to the range

    Mercedes SLS AMG Gullwing ($220K) – just ‘cos it’s the coolest-looking car on the planet

Comments are closed.