5 thoughts on “typecast #8.

  1. harp1034 says:

    My mother used an Underwood made in the 1930s. Manual not electric. I always wanted but someone else got to it before me. I guess I will have to go on eBay and find one.

  2. Joanna says:

    Ohhhhhhh, who’s a pretty boy? Isn’t he? Isn’t he!

    Yes, I talk to typewriters like I talk to pets.

  3. FrankC says:

    Looks like it needs a new ribbon, that or you’re typing too quietly.

  4. Peter says:

    “Is it obsolete if it still does what it’s supposed to do?”

    –I feel precisely the same way about 1911’s.

  5. Jeff says:

    Okay, my most used machine is a 1950 Underwood standard and the “youngest” is an Olivetti 21 that’s stiil over 45 years old. They work perfectly. I could list others.

    My centerfire rifles range from 106 years old to 60 years old. They work perfectly and, like the typewriters, do their job superbly.

    I value them for what they are and they are a pleasure to use. Maybe they are a personal example to follow.🙂

    And in this time of ever increasing dependence on electronic whatevers, there is a certain satisfaction in being able to function well and comfortably when the power is off and the batteries are drained.

Comments are closed.