writing and internet distractions, part umpteen.

It looks like I’m not the only writer consciously avoiding the distractions inherent in working on a machine that is connected to the Internet.  I solve the problem by using low-tech writing tools.  Others take their laptops to places where you can’t get online.

Is inability to resist the siren song of the Interwebs a weakness or character flaw?  If so, it’s looking to be a pretty common one.  I know my productivity increases fourfold when I’m staying away from YouTwitFaceTube.

13 thoughts on “writing and internet distractions, part umpteen.

  1. wfgodbold says:

    Whatever you do, don’t go to tvtropes.org. It’s more wikipedian than wikipedia is, only without all the boring factual information.

    If clicking from trope to trope and series to series doesn’t eat up hours of your time, I’ll eat my hat*.

    /maniacal laughter

    *I won’t actually eat my hat.

  2. The cafe I favor has crap wifi so I get lots of work done. Plus I do my longhand work there. But damned if I don’t need to fill my pen up or else I run out of ink. Should carry two around. Hmmm.

    • Marko Kloos says:

      That’s the one drawback of the Pilot Vanishing Point…the converter doesn’t hold much ink. My Lamy 2000 usually goes two weeks between refills, but the nib doesn’t retract on that one.

  3. LittleRed1 says:

    I think it’s more of the human condition – look, a shiny! – ah anyway, as I was saying, for me it depends.

    If I’m writing fiction, ‘Net can be a problem because say I need to look up location information. I do that, but then I start to roam. For non-fiction, I tend not to get sucked in because I need a specific piece of information. If the words are flowing, I’ll mark the place and get the data later, if possible, otherwise I tend to get the material I need and come straight back to work. But I was labeled “the department’s OCD” when I was at Flat State U, so YMMV.

  4. aczarnowski says:

    You’re not alone in this Marko.

  5. Paul B says:

    We are all bright people with a powerful monkey urge to learn. You can trust the internet as well as most printed material and you can tailor your learning to match your own preconceptions.

    It is a weakness, possibly an addiction. At least it is not as debiliting as drugs or alchohol.

  6. Paul B says:

    Yes, I need to do this in word, spell check and then post.

  7. Brian J. says:

    Strangely, I find I get more done at a coffeeshop with wi-fi than I do at home because I don’t trust public wi-fi and don’t connect to it.

    And I don’t have any Civilization variant installed on the laptop.

  8. Jake says:

    Tvtropes is a supercritical site. Namely, for each page you read, you will open up, on average, more than one link.

    I blame tabbed browsing.

  9. […] Kloos, a science fiction writer with two munchkins of his own, links to a Wall Street Journal piece about writers looking for places to write that don’t have […]

  10. Marja says:

    Internet is bad, bad, BAD for my writing. It took me about three years to finish my first novel manuscript, before I got the connection, now I’m still writing the second one, after five years since I got the net to my home.

    BAD!

  11. Marja says:

    And yes, I’m very slow even without distractions.

  12. Ken says:

    I have occasion to stay sometimes at a place with no TV, no landline phone, and no Internet. It makes a difference in my productivity.

Comments are closed.