sale: “ink and blood”.

I just sold my first piece of fiction. It’s a short story called “Ink and Blood”, and it went to a professional, SFWA-qualifying market.  (I’ll share the details as soon as I can.)

Of all the stories I have out on submission right now, I like this one the best, and I’m glad someone else likes it enough to put their money on it. It’s an alternate history fantasy story set in an odd version of late 19th century Germany. I’ll let you all know when and where you can read it, and I hope you will.

Hey, maybe I’ll get the hang of this writing business yet…

22 thoughts on “sale: “ink and blood”.

  1. Ali says:

    That is excellent! Can’t wait to read it.🙂

  2. bluntobject says:

    Congratulations! Outstanding news.

  3. Jim says:

    (Applause)

    Nothing in a writer’s professional life is sweeter than the first check. Congratulations.

  4. T. Munk says:

    Congratulations! Yay for your first real sale (:

  5. Great news, Congratulations!!!

  6. Richard P says:

    Excellent! But we all want to know: did you draft it on a typewriter??

    • Marko Kloos says:

      No, this one was drafted in fountain pen, in my Moleskine knockoff notebook. It fit the intended mood of the story better…it features ink and pens.

  7. Outstanding, Marko! Congratulations and I can’t wait to read it.

  8. yankeefried says:

    May it be the first of many sales!

  9. B says:

    YAY!!! congrats can’t wait until we can read it…

    B & SciFi

  10. BornLib says:

    Next stop, a Campbell award.

  11. AJD says:

    Congratulations! Make sure to let us know where we can read it when it becomes available.

  12. Tam says:

    Congratulations!

  13. Fodder4Thought says:

    Congrats!

  14. michael says:

    Delurking…to say congratulations!

  15. Mark Alger says:

    Woo-hoo! Congratulations. So: the clock is now running on your Campbell eligibility.

    M

  16. Old Windways says:

    Congratulations! Looking forward to being able to read it!

  17. Dwight Weaver says:

    Cool! Congratulations. I definitely want to read it.

  18. Quinnzite says:

    Really well done, that’s an amazing feat!

  19. Ken says:

    I’m sorry not to have added my congratulations sooner. Well done!

Comments are closed.