the typewriter makes the local fish wrapper.

The typewriter renaissance must be real—even our sleepy little Valley News, the area bird cage liner, has picked up on the phenomenon:

typewriternews

True to legacy media fashion, their articles aren’t available online. The gist of it is that a lot of younger kids think the typewriter’s mechanical and single-purpose nature is neat. It mentions our local typewriter repair shop, Twin State Typewriter over in White River Junction, and the fact that they now seem to have a waiting list for good used manuals. The article goes on to mention a few local writers who still type up their first drafts on a manual typewriter.

I’ve recently trimmed the collection a bit and moved four of my typewriters down to Tom Furrier at Cambridge Typewriter in Boston, where I traded them for a nice little Olympia SF. Now I have three Olympias and two Royals, all in restored and working condition. I don’t want to stockpile old machines just for the sake of it, so I only kept the ones I enjoy most, and the two that have sentimental value.

Of course, I still want an Olivetti Lettera 32, and you never know what you’ll bump into on Craigslist or at random yard sales…

9 thoughts on “the typewriter makes the local fish wrapper.

  1. Mac Mallison says:

    Manual typewriters my be nice but, nothing is better than an old IBM Selectric. In my view the
    426 Hemi of typewriters.

  2. Lanius says:

    Typewriters are .. dunno.

    As useful as tits on a gun, I think.

    Now, if you want to have something useful that sounds a little like a typewriter, get a model M keyboard.

    I plan to have one when I grow up. I used these keyboards in grammar school and I loved the clacking. It drives people insane…

    • Tam says:

      Are you telling Marko about Model M keyboards?

      You’re new here, aren’t you?😉

      (I think he has a whole post category on the IBM Model M keyboard.)

      • Lanius says:

        I tended to skip Marko’s anachronistic-technologies posts😉

        It’s all rather quaint, like the longhand. I kind of hoped he’d turn out to be one of those people who could write like clerks used to, back in 1920’s, but his penmanship is nothing exceptional.

        Still, I’ve got to admit there is something to writing by hand. Personally, I like writing cheatsheets neatly (the allowed ones).

        Taking notes during lectures I don’t like. Never enough time to write stuff down nicely.

  3. We used to have an Olympia electric typewriter. It was was an office model with a type ball similar to the Selectric but was easier to use for corrections. My late wife had traded her IBM Selectric in on this and used it to write her dissertation.

    If the Selectric is the 426 Hemi, then the Olympia was the Ford 427/429 of typewriters.

  4. Don Gwinn says:

    Neato, but they put it in the newspaper. Nobody read it.

  5. David Nater says:

    Have you checked out Deutsche Optik? They have a number of manual machines available.

Comments are closed.