curse you, tempting canadian comfort food.

On Friday, I loaded the kids into the car and went down to Manchester. We had lunch at Chez Vachon, which has the best poutine south of the border. (Side note: iOS autocorrect does not know “poutine” and thinks I mean “pouting.”) Then we went to We-B-Toyz, where the kids picked out Halloween costumes and some small toys.

Poutine, for those who aren’t familiar with it, is a Quebecois dish that consists of fries with cheese curds topped with gravy. It’s about as healthy as it sounds, but it tastes pretty damn good. I don’t know that I’d do the 120-mile round trip routinely just for a plate of it, but I’ll definitely go back there the next time I have business in Manchester or surroundings.

Also on Friday, we got an iPhone 4S (at the Verizon stand inside BJs, very little waiting in line involved), so now both adults in the house are schlepping around iPhones. This is actually my first Jesus Phone–up until now, I’ve used an old flip phone and an iPod touch for comms on the go. It’s nice to have all one’s digital tools in one device, and the iPhone is really an electronic Swiss Army knife. It has all the features of the iPod touch, plus a GPS and a camera (my old iPod touch didn’t have one), and it makes phone calls on top of that. Now I have a HD video and still camera plus a miniature laptop and a cell phone all in one little glass-and-steel brick. I immediately passed the Manly Pink Camera down to the kids, and they’ve been running around the Castle doing photographic essays like The Sleeping Dogs That Sleep All The Time, Out-Of-Focus Siblings, and Daddy Really Doesn’t Want His Picture Taken When He’s In The Bathroom.

The iPhone was my birthday gift from Robin. I got myself a modest little trinket for my upcoming 40th as well: a Spyderco Sage 2.

This is a handy little blade that combines the ergonomics of the Spyderco Native with the looks, feel, and frame lock of the Chris Reeve Sebenza. I’ve dubbed this one the Spyderbenza. The blade is only three inches long and should be legal to carry around in most jurisdictions outside of NH. (Here in the Granite State, we can carry whatever we want, no matter how long the blade or how it is deployed.) It’s also a very sedate-looking folder, without the black coating or serrations that make a knife twice as lethal in the eyes of office drones and police officers in more uptight localities.

Rounding out the New Toy lineup is my latest pen acquisition, a Platinum Carbon fountain pen. This is an inexpensive Japanese desk pen for writing and drawing. It has an insanely fine nib that somehow still manages to be very smooth. It’s designed for Platinum’s carbon ink, which is a pigment-based waterproof artist ink that will clog fountain pens not designed for it. (It’s basically India Ink without the shellac.) The pen is just a bit over ten bucks at JetPens. I also got the desk stand for it to keep it upright when I’m not using it. This pen is kind of addictive to write and draw with, and the ultra-fine smooth line it produces makes me want to doodle tiny little stick figures in the margins of my notebooks.

So that’s the birthday loot haul, even though my birthday won’t be for another week and a half. I don’t have all the toys I want, but I most certainly have all the ones I need, and the rest is pure gravy.

Thank you again, all of you who hit the tip jar for the short story. I feel like I ought to be giving refunds–a buck or so seems fair to me for a short story, so many of you greatly overpaid. That little experiment makes me think about posting an entire novel on the same pay-me-if-you-like-it basis, despite my earlier assertions that I wouldn’t self-publish. Five or six bucks was the rate at had in mind for a novel, not a short story. (For any writer friends who may be curious: I’ve not made professional rate money on that little story yet, but it’s quite a bit more than I would have gotten from a market that offers semi-pro or token payment.) Most importantly, the story is being read and enjoyed by Actual Readers, not languishing in a folder on my hard drive.

For the rest of the day, I’ll be putting some ink down with the new pen, and later on there will be some interskyping with my brother in Germany on my new iPhone. I suspect this Sunday will also involve cocktails at some point. Living in the future is pretty cool.

13 thoughts on “curse you, tempting canadian comfort food.

  1. Ali Trotta says:

    I had poutine when I visited Montreal recently — and bubble tea. It was my first time for both, and I can’t get either locally. This is just another reason to go back to Quebec. *grin* that pen is gorgeous. As for the knife, I really want to quote from Crocodile Dundee….

  2. Chrystoph says:

    Just an FYI on the sharp, the Fed doesn’t allow anything past 2 5/8″, so, should you need to, oh, go to the Post Office, they could become objectionable.

    Silly regulations division at work…

  3. Sebastian says:

    You wrote ” (Here in the Granite State, we can carry whatever we want, no matter how long the blade or how it is deployed.)”.
    So…does that mean you can carry a sword?😀

  4. Chang says:

    Bastard! Now I need one of those pens! And the stand. And the converter. Are you happy? I could use on of those knives, too. And I’m hungry.

  5. Dwayne F says:

    I was just in Toronto for Greenbuild. It was interesting to see all the little differences between there and middle America.

    As for the pen, thanks for the great post and information. One of my daughters has been cartooning for years and I had been looking for a vintage quill pen for her. Not any more since JetPens has a great selection of manga and cartooning pens. Christmas is coming…

  6. David Starr says:

    Did you photograph the pen and the knife with the Iphone? Those are good quality pix.

Comments are closed.