hand-knitted organs!

Meet Laphroaig the Liver and his attachment, Glenfiddich the Gall Bladder. Those were hand-knitted for me by my Intertubes pal Karen. Pretty neat, huh?

(No idea why, of all the organs she could have knitted, she would send me a liver…)

Funny thing–when I took it out of the envelope and showed it off to the family, Quinn wanted to know what it is. I said, “It’s a liver.”

He points to the green part and says, “And that’s the gall bladder.”

*blink*

Kid paid attention to his “Me and My Body” book.

If anyone’s interested in commissioning their very own knitted organs, I can put you in touch with the very talented artist who did this one.

6 thoughts on “hand-knitted organs!

  1. BobG says:

    A liver isn’t bad; at least no one has knitted a prostate…yet.

  2. Tam says:

    A big stuffed dude with a hollow chest cavity and knitted organs you could stuff in there like a puzzle? Dude, that’d sell like frozen margaritas in hell…

  3. abnormalist says:

    Got a friend on his second heart (25 years and count) who’s into it for a kidney as well (anti-rejection drugs are a killer on the kidneys)… I think I see a Christmas gift here….

    Already as he walks around if you listen carefully you can hear the na na na na na na na na naaaa sound

  4. skel says:

    @Tam-
    It’s been done – image search for “knitted anatomy”.
    They’re usually one-offs, not production.
    http://manmadediy.com/chris/posts/537-incredible-knitted-skeleton

  5. Jake says:

    I could wile away the hours
    Conferrin’ with the flowers
    Consultin’ with the rain
    And my head I’d be scratchin’
    While my thoughts were busy hatchin’
    If I only had a brain

  6. NYEMT says:

    I’ve knighted him. Then he could be Sir Rhosis. @Tam: Truly awesome idea. I know a bunch of EMT instructors who’d be a) laughing uncontrollably, b) throwing wads of cash at whoever produced it. 🙂

Comments are closed.