(very) brief 2011 recap.

2011 was a good year. My wife’s business really took off, I had my first professional fiction sale (“Ink and Blood” to Beneath Ceaseless Skies), did my first public reading (at Readercon). and scribbled a whole lot of words for a whole lot of stories and novels. I didn’t get the publishing contract I’ve been working toward, but that just means I haven’t submitted enough awesome stuff to enough publishers. I’ll aim to fix that in 2012.

All of you imaginary friends out in Intertubes land—may you have a happy, healthy, and prosperous 2012. Collectively speaking, you’re my virtual water cooler here at the Munchkin Wrangler offices, and hanging out with you helps me stay sane and feel connected. Writing is a lonely job, and stay-at-home parent writers are even more isolated than the average nutjob novelist. Thanks for amusing me, reading my stuff, and/or writing stuff I enjoy reading. See you crazy kids on the other side.

14 thoughts on “(very) brief 2011 recap.

  1. Doug says:

    Happy New Year to you and yours from always exciting Knoxville sir!

    Doug Weaver

  2. Toni says:

    A very happy & healthy New Year to all of you!

  3. Gladorn says:

    And a happy 2012 to you, good sir!

  4. Jay G. says:

    Hoping to see you again in person soon, Marko…🙂

  5. The staff here recommends that a hearty Happy New Year is in order, therefore I wholeheartedly comply.

  6. libertyman says:

    Happy New Year! Can you make it to Jillian’s next week?

  7. yankeefried says:

    Happy New Year to you and your family! Your blog is on my must-read list (made easy thanks to Google Reader). Hmmmm….on the other hand, so is Jay’s.

    Oh, well, let me know next time you visit eastern Mass so I can buy you a drink.

  8. MSgt B says:

    Happy New Year from your imaginary interweb friend in VA!

    It only got down to about 40 last night, so we sat around a fire in the backyard.

    Drinking.
    A lot.

  9. Tam says:

    Happy New Year to all of y’all at Castle Frostbite!

  10. LittleRed1 says:

    Happy New Year from a flat, windy part of North America! (From a reader who celebrated midnight with Greenland because she had to get up really early this AM)

  11. Ancient Woodsman says:

    Happy New Year. A nice part of 2011 is that during an internet comments posting on a last-weeks Union Leader article on gun legislation, a poster put in your “Why the Gun is Civilization” essay, and actually gave the credit to you and not the fictional Caudill. That’s a gain.

    Two of my brothers-in-law have come from up your way, and I’ve helped to build houses in your neighborhood. It’s nice to share the same state with you, even if I am a flatlander.

    Thank you very much for your time at this blog. It is much appreciated by others.

  12. Glamdring says:

    Gratz!

    What is Robin doing?

    I thought she was teaching, but it sounds like I was mistaken.

  13. Alchemist says:

    A happy New Year to you and yours from New Zealand ( the first nation in the world to see the new year).
    It’s nice to think we intertube friends help keep you company . Even though you don’t really know us, we feel like we know you!
    Have you ever considered having a video link up so we can all meet and greet?

    With many good wishes and much thanks for your time and writing, Katie

Comments are closed.